Dog mushing help and non-stop adventure in Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 393 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am looking for help to interact and help exercise my sled dogs in summer and winter.
    I need someone who loves dogs is physically fit ,with good balance and enjoys being out in nature.
    I am looking for a happy ,positive person who loves adventure and dogs too.
    I offer non stop adventure in a safe and happy unique lifestyle atmosphere.

    In summer I take the dogs on regular runs along local trails.
    My helper is welcome to be part of these runs or can stay home with the other dogs left behind in dog yard and interact with them.

    In fall and winter the dogs are harnessed and run as a team of dogs pulling a 4 wheeler until enough snow arrives to pull a dog sled.
    We will be doing regular recreational runs through out the winter and spring.

    I will outfit my helper with all the extreme cold weather outer layers such as boots ,overmitts and parka.
    Winter helpers will need to provide their own thermal underwear,gloves ,hat and base layers.

    The winter helper who stays a month or longer will have the opportunity to come with me on an overnight camping trip to some remote hot-springs staying in tent and cabins .

    This is a cultural exchange where you will learn how to take care of Alaskan huskies and travel out in the wilderness with them.
    You must love dogs and love being out in the great outdoors

    I will train the helper to get you comfortable and confident to run your own team.

    You will stay in a self contained cabin which has elevtricity and is heated by oil stove and woodstove.

    I will provide meals and we will mostly share meals together.
    My sled dog home and training life is in a fun ,happy and positive environment .
    This is a great opportunity for fit ,adventurous dog lovers who also love the wilderness and adventuring in it.

    See guest reviews for photos and a general idea of the experience.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It will be an Alaskan adventure working with loving ,happy sled dogs.
    You will learn all about sled dogs ,how to care for and feed them and how to travel and camp safely with them in an Alaskan winter.
    It will be a cherished lifetime memory !

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    Feeding and training Alaskan race dogs and running older recreational dogs.I will teach you how to care and run a dogsled team.
    In summer the dogs need regular excercise by walking and or running with them.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Cabin stay.Staying in my cabin in a separate bedroom or in a separate self contained cabin.
    Both cabins have electricity and are heated by oil stove and woodstove .
    You will have use of a bathroom which has a shower and washing machine.
    The toilet is an outhouse.
    The accomadation is modern and comfortable.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I will drive helper to town when i go for supplies.
    There will be social coffeeshop visits and golden eagle salloon for music and beer once every two weeks at minimum..
    This will be a happy fun loving environment!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-4 hours per day average

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 255143487348