Help us with some planting, fencing, watering, painting and drive a tractor and live in a big old timber house in Allora Queensland, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 127 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    239

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for volunteers [couples preferably] to do a few hours a day for board and keep. We have available one double bed available in one bedroom.

    We dont have much paid work at the moment... just a few hours at our airbnb dig

    If you have a genuine interest in coming to us we reply quickly... no spam please...

    We don't really want hardworking people... rather we appreciate open thinking relaxed type folks

    The kettle is on and your bed is made!... Time to enjoy the country life!

    We would dearly love folks to help with painting and to install and fix doors... but we may be just dreaming!

    Off the grid living in a 1930s house on six acres at Allora Queensland in stages of renovation. It is on the Dalrymple Creek just one kilometre from Allora in the Darling Downs, great views, lovely community. We are two hours away from Brisbane towards the East.

    We are totally off the grid and and love the idea of growing food. We have full 240V solar / battery house, a wormsmart waste system, 100,000L of water storage, airconditioning plus fast NBN internet wifi.
    We have water security with a water bore!

    We would like to expand our tree planting and bio-corridors and get the vegetable patch expanding too...
    We have a number of fruit trees and wish to expand this. The vegie patch is a bit sad, we have ducks and chooks.
    as for the house- it needs an internal paint
    We live in a smoke free environment...

    We have now hosted about twenty world travellers and it has always been a good experience both ways.
    We are both ancient semi retired nurses. We are engaged with the local community. There are many attractions here.
    We have two standard poodles: Izzy and Poco

    So we are looking for guests to stay with us on our Darling Downs property. We are easy going folks and there are a variety of things to do here... a real bonus if you can cook!
    We also accept folks for brief stays on occassions.

    We will provide board and keep.

    We also run an Airbnb 20 kilometres away. If you help us with this this we will pay for your time.

    We are on six acres on the Dalrymple Creek on a sealed road just one kilometre out of town.

    We relocated an 1930s Queenslander four bedroom house there [rescued from the city of Brisbane] and have lots to do and lots to enjoy. The house is very livable, with a big bathroom and kitchen. We are trying to be low impact self sufficient.

    It is an off the grid rural property of 6 acres. We do have full electrical power from our solar and batteries, full flushing toilets that feeds our worms based treatment plant and full wifi from our fixed wireless NBN service.

    OUR AIMS:
    -reinforce biocorridors - plant trees + fencing
    plant fruit trees
    Fencing
    look after our dogs, ducks and chooks
    -expand the vegetable garden, nurture chickens, bantams and ducks for eggs

    -thinking about ecoforestry

    Our tractors with a mower keeps the grass down.

    Our excavator moves a bit of earth around the place. We also have another tractor with a bucket.

    We also have a 1977 bay window VW for restoration.

    Use the word ALLORA in your reply so we know that you are actually interested in staying with us.

    We reply quickly.

    ---

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    well this is living in the 'country'
    off grid experience

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    The garden needs a water and care, and there are trees to plant and a vegetable patch to establish. The property needs a mow with the tractor to keep the grass down... there are lots of ongoing projects that you can choose to do

    help out in the house or in the garden

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    the house is in renovation but has a huge bathroom and kitchen with all facilities and NBN broadband wifi
    We have one bedroom with a double bed for guests

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Allora is 1 km, Warwick is 20km and Toowoomba is 50km... check out the Southern Downs
    We have pushbikes available to get around

    "Crisps" buses run from Brisbane to Warwick regularly.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    A few hours each week day- 15 hours/week, for food and lodgings!

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 485483399624