Be part of an artistic/activist/anthropologist family living in Bergen, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 362 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/05/2022

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an artistic/activist/anthropologist family living in Bergen. I am a theater artist and a hospital clown. Caro is an anthropologist. Together we run Apropos Teater (www. apropos teater.no) We work between the arts and academia. We are concerned with making dialog between lost connections and activate awareness for social connections, nature and earth.

    We try to make our urban house and garden into an inspiring eco friendly space for friends and guests/artists in residence. We consider every action we do as a part of a creative and artistic universe, making the world a better place to stay.
    Our house and garden is situated 5 km from the city center. We have the fjord and the mountain few minutes away. We swim all year around in a lake in the mountain or in the fjord. We have grown up children that still lives at home in-between travels and studies and we have two lovely dogs.
    We try to practice gardening with permaculture principles and to create a garden with eatable flowers, plants, herbs, berry bushes and fruit trees. The nature around our house supply precious food for free including berries, mushrooms, herbs and fish!

    Sometimes we host workshops, artist camps, symposiums, exhibitions and mini-festivals. Volunteers/guests sometimes share their skills and host their own workshops.

    We are passionate about food and dumpster diving. We love to prepare and eat from the urban and from the wild. We prepare any kind of food. If you love cooking you have (almost) free reins!
    We bake our own sourdough bread.

    The plans for building a chicken house has changed into plans for building a mini cathedral for the sea and earth.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You would learn ways of seeing life as an ongoing artistic or activistic activity, gardening, weeding, baking bread and looking after dogs. You also have plenty of opportunities to enjoy and develop a close relationship to nature, learn wildlife skills like hiking and mountaineering, fishing, harvesting from the wild in season and canoeing. Bergen region has unique breadth of culture and experiences to offer.

  • Help

    Help

    If art, ecology, aesthetics, creativity, self-sufficiency, and a multi-species worldview and nature is part of your horizon and ignites a spark within you, the door is open to apply!

    We welcome positive, self-motivated, independent, curious and robust people who are happy to help, eager to learn or share their skills.

    You need to be fairly practical, self motivated, independent and foodloving, as we all share the cooking and cleaning in the house.

    Ideally you would need to have some skills in the tasks we will be doing like; construction woodwork, painting/decorating, cooking, etc.

    Love for dogs is very important, good humor is appreciated.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Two guest rooms with an adjoining bathroom, or you can choose to live in a Lavvo or a Yurt in the garden. We share the rest of the house, we make food together in our well equiped kitschen. Computer and internet/wifi available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live only 5 km outside Bergen center. Lots of busses are passing by. It takes a good 45 minutes to walk and by bike 15 min.
    Bergen is a World Heritage City and European City of culture, and one of Norway´s most popular destinations for unique holiday. It is located between the Sognefjord and Hardangerfjord and therfor called; The gateway to the fjords of Norway, and a perfect place to start exploring the beautiful landscape. You can go skiing in the glaciere and swimming in the sea at the very same day.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 559296533496