Help with elderly companionship, meals, and your own creative project in Vallejo, California, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 165 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/11/2020

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Who are we?

    We are a private family of two; father and son, ages 48 and 82. The home has 5 bedrooms and 3.5 bathrooms conveniently located:
    a ferry ride away to San Francisco,
    a bike ride away from Wine country,
    a day trip to Yosemite.

    I, the younger, consult in technology and run an arts LLC; an emerging artist with Bay Area connections. Poppa is a retiring lawyer/public defender. We are both in excellent physical health; he walks 3 miles daily and travels frequently. In fact, this year alone he has gone to Russia, China, Europe and the North American National Parks. About 15 minutes away lives my mother, Julia, and her primary care taker, my brother Jay.


    What we need and you will learn/do

    Three nights a week assist me with companionship for Julia. She comes to the Art House so Jay gets respite. We can listen to music, draw, watch a movie, dance. Julia is a glowing wonderful ball of joy and very inspiring. You will cry with laughter and joy... I promise.

    Learn how to run an artist studio, managing the creation of art from inspiration, logistics, execution, curation, photography, and social media. Help maintain and improve a physical collection of a thousand drawings. The system is digitized and searchable through an SQL database. (techies welcome or I will teach you)

    That's it

    Nice to have....

    Cook and share some meals. Talk about culture, travel, art, creativity, technology, AI, the future, gardening, life...... Collaborate with me on drawings.

    Art Residency.

    I'd like to mentor an artist in this role. 'Caretaking and Creativity', I can officially offer the residency and project guidance for your CV. This is an awarded residency and something to be proud of. DM for detailed pdf about the residency details.

    About Me

    I collaborate with a contemporary dance company as a visual artist. I work regularly with dancers and models. I show my work at festivals and salons regularly, frequenting the San Francisco arts scene. In 2020 there are plans to tour Europe. I can introduce you. I host life drawing and guest artists who come for mentorship; my work attracts painters, photographers and filmmakers whom I gladly host.

    I look forward to hearing from you. Tell me your hopes expectations and fears! We can do anything here.

    John

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Elderly Companionship
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My creative process; the ins and outs of an art studio. Bay Area contemporary dance facilities/scene. Poppa is a world traveller with art, sculpture and items from around the world.

  • Help

    Help

    Elderly companionship, meals, and your creative project.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room and full bathroom. All yours.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    National Parks, San Francisco, Wine Country, Art Studio, There is a ferry going directly to San Francisco from our city. It's a wonderful beautiful way to commute.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 3 days a week

This is Julia, once a dancer in the San Francisco Ballet and a Miss Santa Clara beauty pageant winner. We think she gets more beautiful and talented every year!
One of the drawing tables in the main life drawing area. Yes, the black fabric is an aerial silk! Exercise and life modelling tools!!!
My figurative abstract charcoal drawing. I always do this work collaboratively with life models and other artists.
This is Poppa and Laura on one of their many trips. This year alone; National Parks, Russian, European River Cruise, and China coming up!
Life drawing performance with a San Francisco Bay Area Dance company. If you are a dancer we can use SF facilities and choreograph a performance.
The estate is a large one story 5 bedroom ranch style home in Sunny California. Only two rooms are occupied. Come!
Cleaning up drawings after life modelling session. We also have a photography studio for high quality scan of all art created.
Myself and Julia enjoying the county fair!
Rehearsal for E Motion Arts Dance Company.
I love cooking, indoors or out. Fresh ingredients, vegan, all are welcome
I often drive to Yosemite, leaving at midnight I can be there for sunrise, hike for 5 hours and even return that day! Camping is good too. ;)
Recent drawing performance. I am a collaborator with a San Francisco dance company. Do like the arts? Dancing? You are welcome to help out.
An evening of life drawing with a guest artist from Chicago.
Hiking up Nevada Falls in Yosemite!!! I can drive out, hike this trail and return home the same day!

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 995565847637