1 / 5

Permaculture experience in Gig Harbor, WA, USA



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    Summer garden set up. General maintenance of property. 100 percent work away experience guaranteed! I have only two reviews so far. 5/5 stars...I think we should have 100 percent rating IMO. I am told that our 85 percent rating is due to the fact that WA counts quantity not quality... 5/5 for our first time "ain't bad" though hu? OK enough ranting...hahaha. Antonio didn’t have time to review me before his subscription expired. He was a fantastic 3 month work away here and we are now life time friends!

    Gig Harbor 7 acres . I am just starting and need help in the garden. Permaculture knowledge helpful but not necessary. I am a Master Gardener with Permaculture. I need help building interior project, painting and general household chores.

    Eventually, I would use my property and a training site for a variety of lost arts such as canning, bee keeping, composting and making dirt, solar dehydration of fruit, and solar cooking to name a few

    Accommodations indoor unfinished apartment. I need your help to finish it. . Please be prepared to work about 4 hours per day 4 days per week. I will provide dinner for the days we work together. Social drinking ok, but no smokers.

    I have worked on a small food farm in northern Costa Rica. I can teach about gardening, Permaculture and living off the land year round. I have traveled in Central America, France, Spain, Italy and can make recommendations. I grew up on the East Coast and know a bit about traveling there and parts of the US in between too. I speak Spanish pretty well. I just retired from being a nurse for 35
    In your free time, there is a lot to do here, you can bike easily from the house and there are waterways for kayaks and summer swimming.. The hiking is very nice.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have a lot of garden experience to share. A five month stay in Costa Rica taught me a lot - so I can share tropical garden experience too!

  • Help


    Please be prepared to get dirty and help to me in the garden, on building or repair projects.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Unfinished apartment. See photos. It is a large indoor area with full refrigerator and stove, separate private bathroom. Laundry on site too. One queen size bed with brand new mattress.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Seattle is about 1.5 hours away.

    Please be at the most minimal social drinkers and absolutely no smoking

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Excellent internet 5 G

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    No grey water dump but water and electricity.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Host ref number: 438889866388

Feedback (1)



Come stay and help in our family orientated lodge in beautiful Homer, Alaska, USA
Italian language exchange and help with some yard projects in beautiful Durango, Colorado, USA