Help out in a Self-suffient Quinta in the Making in Central Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated   Last minute

Favourited 196 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    49  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Laura and Andrew own a small farm in Central Portugal. We are committed Christians. We aim to become as self-sufficient as possible on our land, producing wood for fuel, vegetables and fruit for food and wine and keeping some livestock for meat and compostable waste. We have been here four years and there is a lot more we would like to do!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers will learn how agriculture was carried out a generation ago as this part of Portugal is both very rural and relatively poor, so that things have not been modernised as in other places. The local Portuguese and indeed the expat community are friendly and welcoming so an insight into Portuguese culture can be gained. There are many local public festivals and celebrations that can be visited. Laura is Canadian and Andrew is from the UK so we have insight into both of those cultures as well.

  • Help

    Help

    Andrew's next project will be to divert the grey water waste from the house and create a filter bed and grow beds for vegetables.

    Throughout the year, volunteers are needed to help with all the tasks necessary to maintain the gardens, vegetable plots, animals and the woodland areas. We also can always use help with cleaning the house and we love it when volunteers can cook us their favourite meals.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    During the summer and Autumn (May to November), we rent out the top part of our house and live in the basement flat. Workawayers during this time will have their own room but will share all other areas with us. When we are living in the main house (November to May), workawayers will be offered our spare room on the top floor, again sharing all other living spaces with us.

    We are avid omnivores who love to eat good food and lots of it! We generally eat two large meals a day (breakfast and lunch) and generally have a modest snack in the evening (i.e. crisps, nuts, cheese and crackers, leftovers,etc). The main meal of the day is lunch with everyone in the house eating together to discuss the days work and get to know one another better. Volunteers should expect to help out in some way with either the preparation or clean-up of the meals in addition to their allotted daily tasks elsewhere on the quinta. Breakfast usually consists of toast or muesli, porridge, yogurt or scones. On special occasions we make pancakes! We will do our best to accommodate requests for food outside of our normal eating patterns within reason. Volunteers are expected to purchase their own "treats" such as cigarettes, alcohol, chocolate, etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Volunteers could take advantage of the many walking and cycle trails in the area. Anyone with an interest in wildlife would be delighted with the range of flora and fauna here. There are river beaches for swimming and relaxation, the highest mountains in the mainland of Portugal, the Serra Estrela, are quite close, and it is not far to visit cities like Coimbra and Viseu which offer much of interest to visitors. Bus and train links between major centres are good and quite cheap.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Tyra proving that vegan food is really edible after all
Leonhart and Signature Blackberry Gateau
Manon treading the 2017 vintage
Laura and Manon the White Cat
Grace and Lemon Cake
Adam's Signature Duck Satay
Harvesting the olives 2015

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.0)

Communication: (4.5)































Host ref number: 291943355126