updated   Last minute

Help us with the project to improve our touristic and therapeutic place in the Mantiqueira mountains, Brazil

  • Brazil
  • Favourited 1496 times
  • Last activity: 01/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi! My name is Cristiano, I live in Delfim Moreira in Minas Gerais. We work with inns and tourism in the beautiful Serra da Mantiqueira. We have 3 different locations where we rent rooms to our customers. Our Hostel is located in the center of Delfim Moreira. Oca Roça is my house where the volunteers stay and we also rent rooms, this space is in the village of Rosário, 7km from the city center between the mountains of Mantiqueira! The third place is Oca Chalé, a beautiful wooden house in the middle of the forest 24km from the city of Delfim. We need help with various tasks around here: painting walls and furniture, building, gardening, taking care of the dogs and chickens, and helping with basic house maintenance! We keep the house and common areas clean for our guests and try to make them feel at home during their stay. We expect our volunteers to work 4-5 hours a day with 2 days off for their free time during the week. If you're looking for a quiet place in the middle of nature, don't miss it. The landscapes are beautiful! There are some waterfalls around and amazing places to walk and of course some mountains to climb! You can take a look at our Instagram: ocamantiqueira
    We hope to have you with us and make the place grow together!
    Come Join us!

    Olá! Meu nome é Cristiano, moro em Delfim Moreira, Minas Gerais. Trabalhamos com pousada e turismo na bela Serra da Mantiqueira. Temos 3 locais diferentes onde alugamos quartos para os nossos clientes.O Hostel está localizado no centro de Delfim Moreira. Oca Roça é a minha casa aonde ficam os voluntários e também alugamos quartos, este espaço fica na vila de Rosário a 7km do centro da cidade entre as montanhas da Mantiqueira! O terceiro lugar é o Oca Chalé, uma bela casa de madeira no meio da floresta a 24km da cidade de Delfim. Precisamos de ajuda para várias tarefas por aqui: pintar paredes e móveis, construção, jardinagem, cuidar dos cães e galinhas, e ajudar na manutenção básica da casa! Mantemos a casa e as áreas comuns sempre limpas para os nossos clientes e tentamos fazê-los sentir-se em casa durante a sua estadia. Esperamos que nossos voluntários trabalhem de 4 a 5 horas por dia por 5 dias na semana e as folgas costumam ser durante a semana. Se procura um local calmo em meio a natureza não deve deixar de vir. As paisagens são lindas! Existem algumas cachoeiras ao redor e lugares incríveis para passear e, claro, algumas montanhas para escalar! Você pode dar uma olhada no nosso Instagram: ocamantiqueira
    Esperamos ter você conosco e fazer o lugar crescer!
    Venha se juntar a nós!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will get to know the regional culture, learn about planting practices and the Portuguese language. Minas Gerais is a state that is known in the entire country for its simplicity, quiet life and the hospitality of receiving its visitors. We live between the two largest cities of Brazil, yet with the peace and safety of its origins.

  • Help

    Help

    Help with the restoration and the building a terapeutic center and the eco projects.
    Gardening, decoration, construction and painting are one of the many activities here.
    Help with daily tasks of the the eco village and the hostel.
    Assist in the maintenance of tourist trails.
    Any help with tourists.
    Any cultural presentation and language skills with the community.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are in the process of setting up a Holistic Center in a beautiful country house located 7km outside of Delfim Moreira in the small, community-led village Rosário. The country house is surrounded by stunning scenery and nature, here you can really disconnect from busy city life and spend your days connecting to nature and the local surroundings of mountains, horses, cows, chickens, waterfalls and nature reserves. In the village there are dairy farms, nature reserves and chalets set amongst incredible scenery. We need help painting, gardening and constructing within the house. We are building a community here and we usually practice yoga together in the morning and plan fun activities to do together for when we finish working: such as waterfall trekking in the mountains, horse riding and exploring the local town which got many delicious cafes, restaurants and bars. The work is laid back and I am very open to suggestions for how the house could be improved. If you are a creative, open-minded person with ideas we would love to hear from you! As we are working together and building a community, we aim to have breakfast, lunch and dinner together so we can plan and discuss the day ahead. There is no internet connection at the house, however if you have a VIVO chip you will be able to use your phone here to access the internet. If you can drive there may be a car available to use whilst you are here, otherwise accessing the town centre is easy by bike and the walk is extremely scenic and beautiful!

    We have two more places in Delfim Moreira that we can stay eventually, the chalet on the montains, inside the forest where its setting the eco village. The chalet is very cozy, really set in nature. There is no electricity, the lighting, the refrigerator, the stove and the hot water run on gas. All water is mineral and direct from the source. There is a fireplace! Internet access is only possible walking 1km away - via your own mobile phone. The chalet is located 24km from the village of Delfim Moreira and sometimes we can stay on the Hostel in the Delfim city, where you can find a supermarket, bakery, pharmacy and high speed internet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Every day buses leave from São Paulo (260km) and Rio de Janeiro (290km) to Itajubá, the largest city next.
    From São Paulo: 06:45, 13:00, 18:30 (company Pássaro Marron)
    From Rio de Janeiro: 09:20, 21:30 (company Cometa)
    You need to tell the driver that you are going to stop in Delfim Moreira.

    From Belo Horizonte (476km): 07:00, 13:30, 22:30 (every day: company Expresso Gardenia)
    From Campinas (292km): 06:00, 10:30, 14:00, 17:30 (every day: company Expresso Gardenia)
    From Brasília (1184 km): 19:15 (not every day: company Gontijo)
    These three options you need to take a bus from Itajubá to Delfim Moreira.

    In the free time you can make small trips, such as: Paraty beach and Trindade beach (140km), São Lourenço (100km), Campos do Jordão (60km), Maria da Fé (50km) e São Bento do Sapucaí (100km). There are also several small towns with great tourist spots nearby.

    Also you can camping in the biggest peak of state São Paulo: Pico dos Marins. Our favorite mountain is 23 km away from the village - and 2421 meters above sea level or to the Pico do Itaguaré - the famous sleeping giant, 2308 meters abobe sea level.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Besides the internet connection its not the best one here its possible to work and get some workawayers who work online. The roles are the same to the others voluntier. You will be welcome here.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 235965975939

Feedback (49)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)
































































Volunteer at our small family farm and experience new culture and different people in Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Come join us and help around our beautiful farm while enjoying a nature and learning Portuguese in Itapeva, Brazil