Look after our bilingual 14 year old daughter and MAINLY grandma's housework

Country

France

Favourited 233 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Franco-English family of 3 living in the countryside (40 min. away from St Etienne & 60 min. From Lyon). We speak fluent English, spanish, Italian and some German ( and French of course!). We’ve got a big recent house in provencial style and a garden. We’ve also got an outdoor heated swimming pool which we use from May to September and a tennis court.
    The coach stop is at the bottom of our road (500 meters from the house) but we provide a car (with gears and steering wheel on the left) for you to get around.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Help

    Help

    Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday, you will drive Emma to School at 7.45 am and then help my mum whose 90 years old with her housework. Then after 5.00pm you will drive Emma back to the house.
    On Wednesdays you can help me with my housework !

    We are looking for a single preferably anglophone or german or even italian FEMALE child and elderly helper. We would like a FUN, caring, trustworthy, loving person to look after our 14 year old daughter, help my mum with her house and help me with mine. And please, when we are at work, don't stay in your room while our daughter is on her own : the point of this workaway is based on linguistic and social exchange !

    We like good manners, politeness and quiet people ! I mean not people singing in our ears when we come back from work in the evening !

    DRIVING : We provide a nice car, so apply only if you are a good driver with a driving licence (of course !) and if you are used to gears. (Our cars are not automatic). This point is very important for your safety and Emma's.

    The childcare could be useful on some evenings : very few in fact as we will gladly take you with us to most parties. Sometimes you can have your week end off to go to PARIS (60€ return with car sharing) or elsewhere, to visit.

    We are looking for someone to do the house work, ironing, cooking, baking, TYDING (even your own room !), Windows cleaning (we have lot of them !) child minding and easy gardening in the summer (lawn mowing and weeds picking). Please don't apply if your intention is to sunbathe on a deck chair all day or if you're useless at ironing or cleaning Windows !

    We NEED EFFICIENT people, not someone who spends her time sending text messages on her phone or tablet all day !

    We also want you to be with Emma as much as possible when we are away. This means not leaving her in front of the TV while you are in your bedroom, but playing with her (music, gym, singing, drawing...) and generally entertaining her.

    For VEGETERIANS : We believe that it's not possible to be French and vegetarian ! We are real epicureans as far as food is concerned ! However we are very careful in the choice of our goods (victuals). We eat mainly organic food. And the animals that we eat come from the farm where they have had a good life and have not suffered at any time.
    We would like people who are not vegeterians and not fussy with food. I spend a lot of time cooking so please eat what I make !

    Please describe your experience when volunteering and and ADD several PICTURES of you !

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian, Spanish, German and Swedish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    No smoking is allowed. We look forward to meeting new people.
    Your bedroom will be in the tower with a balcony and a good view on the pool, garden and tennis court.
    Helpers are considered as FAMILY so we will gladly have meals with you and show you the region when we have time.
    Facilities provided : Wi-fi internet access except at night, Wii, International TV, laundry facilities, English and French books, dictionaries...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can sometimes have your week-ends to explore France (Lyon, Vichy, Paris, Nice ...). We are also not too far from skiing resorts (a small one is 50 kms away from here).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day or more depending on how many days you work per week

Our tennis court
Denis, Emma and Michèle, our first English au pair whom we went to visit in London.
Emma and Andrea whom we took to the Light Show in Lyon.
Emma and a cousin playing French billiard in the play room
Emma and Rachel, an American girl whom we took skiing with us for a week.
Some part of the garden.
Our private swimming-pool








Host ref number: 682966821648