updated  

Help with gardening, house repair and maintenance in Skibbereen, West Cork, Ireland

  • Favourited 2174 times
  • Last activity: 28 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are Looking for 2 workawayer's with good gardening, general maintenance &diy skills, starting as soon as possible .

    We are also looking for house and animal sitters from time to time.

    We believe in a fair exchange and you will have plenty of free time to explore West Cork.

    We are looking for people who are independent and happy to do their own thing during their time of. We of course will also spend some time together during some meals & an occasional outing or going to music gig with Des, but we also value our privacy.

    WE offer free accommodation and food.
    You can connect to our WiFi It is available outdoors and occasionally inside. If you need to work online you would need your own WiFi so you can use it in the caravan.
    There is a hot tub and outdoor training area on our site, as well as a barrel Sauna, which our workawayers are welcome to use if not in use by our holiday guests.
    The area we live in is rural and the nearest town 5km is Skibbereen. Own transport would be an advantage for you but is not a must. We offer two bikes so you can explore the area. Also when we go to town, which is most days you can get a lift.
    Skibbereen is a lively market town and there are lots of places to see in the area.

    We are looking for people to help us with the garden, help in and around the house, general house maintenance,. Anyone who has knowledge of gardening, polytunnels etc.and could help with gardening would be very welcome.
    Our site is in a lovely rural area, lifts to the nearest town and some evenings out would be possible. We are about 10 km from the sea. We are 5 km from the town of Skibbereen.There is a bus service from the nearest town ( skibbereen) to the next towns and villages.

    We are trying to create a vegetable garden(we do have a polytunnel). We also offer self catering accommodation, which is run by Des and Heidi.



    Des is a local musician/singer and sings in local pubs. Heidi likes outdoors and is interested in cooking and bread baking.
    Our son Marc lives on site with his partner & baby. Marc is a fitness instructor and stuntman. there is an outdoor training area which can be used by workawayers.


    We have 2dogs (who need a lot of walking) and 2very friendly cat.

    We believe in fair exchange and will not ask for too many hours. We usually ask for 4-5 hours help 5 days a week or a max of 25 hours per week devided and agreed upon between you and us as needed.

    We encourage our helping hands to use their free time and go to explore the local area and enjoy the beauty of West Cork. there is much to see and do, you can go to the sea, visit some of the Islands, go cayaking or walking. you are welcome to use the facilities in the garden, there is a bbq area.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    you will be able to improve your language skill and teach us your language. During our busy season You will meet people from different countries and cultures. YOu will have plenty of free time to explore beautiful West Cork. During the late spring and summer season West Cork offers a lot of festivals and things going on.

    During the off season you will have quietness and relaxation time at our place.

  • Help

    Help

    We currently have 2 friendly dogs and 2 cats.
    We are looking for someone helping in the garden,clearing land, fencing and some general help in & around our home.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Irish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have accommodation in a room in the house or in a small caravan.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    during your time off you are free to explore West Cork and all its beauty spots. WE are only 10 km from the nearest point to the see. There is the possibility to cayak, cycle, walk and hike. There are lovely island ( sherking and Cape clear) that you can visit on a day trip.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    about 4 -5 hours per day or a max of 25 hours per week.

Host ref number: 17866785774d

Feedback (31)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








































Come and help out in our garden in beautiful Wicklow, Ireland
Help with home/garden DIY, organization, clearout, fence painting, music/holistic videography, poodle walking! Dublin's East Coast, Ireland