Warmland Farm

Country

Canada

Favourited 118 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/11/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    262

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Located in the beautiful 'warmland' of Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island, our family has a small hobby farm minutes from the ocean. We free range ducks, chickens and sheep, as well as tend a large garden. Our sheep are primarily for milking for cheese production but also for meat and wool. There are always projects on the go here but our family also enjoys relaxing. Our two active young boys run our roadside egg business and help with just about everything else. Currently looking for help with painting, fence building, fleece processing, pen cleaning, floor laying and generally preparing the farm for the winter months.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is one of the most beautiful places in the world and we are huge nature lovers. Visiting our farm would provide you with a comfortable home, nice family and beautiful animals. You could also learn with us as we strive to perfect permaculture ideals and becoming increasingly self sufficient!

  • Help

    Help

    We are preparing the farm for winter - tilling the garden, mending fences, cleaning pens but are also looking for help with some inside projects such painting, fleece cleaning and carding, cheese making, inside cleaning.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Large basement room providing t.v, wifi, microwave, mini fridge and double futon.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Five minute walk to city bus that can take you either locally to the beaches, local town of Duncan or further to the Capital of our province - Victoria (40min) or Nanaimo (30min). Our local area is full of amazing swimming (beaches and lakes) as well as amazing hikes. In Victoria you can visit a charming city that includes our legislature as well as countless sites such as our Royal Canadian Museum, feeding seals in the bay or eating at one of the amazing restaurants.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 193169446981