Join us at our Sustainable Hobby Farm in the Bulga Forest, New South Wales, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 19 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 17 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Because of our losses in the fires we would prefer folks with an independent camping setup. There is only one bedroom with 3 single beds at the main house now for visitors so that is also available .
    Those with previous gardening/ building /physical work skills and experience who want to stay longer term in our rural community as helpers on bushfire recovery (at our place and a number of other related community projects) are also most welcome.

    Homemade house, tree swales and caged orchard/gardens on beautiful mountain plateau 2 hours west of Port Macquarie NSW (also 23km from the town of Elands, 68km from Taree). 40 yrs off the grid on solar power in 1000acres of wild forest/rainforest surrounded by cascading river spa pools. Great friends and local community, transitioning away from fossil fuels and engaged in landcare projects and environmental activism.
    In November towards the end of our worst drought on record,our whole plateau was surrounded by a ring of fires and while much of our forested land was burned, the Plateau and our house and gardens/orchard and swales survived unscathed. ( we were trapped by the suddenness of the blaze out on the fireground all night in our 4WD as we tried to leave ). Now there has been an xs of rain, floods and even a cyclone going by. The greenest grass is back and the forest trees sprouting swathes of brilliant red and green shoots up their trunks while in the garden, growth is rampant. So, we are incredibly appeciative for any help you all can bring our way and hope to meet and match your welcome smiles in the near future. cheers heather

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Sustainable living is our aim and I'm pleased to tell you that we are doing quite well and that the whole system just gets better and better year by year, of course with the invaluable help from our multicultural visitor exchanges.

  • Help

    Help

    Currently our place is in bushfire recovery mode with our entire forest scorched and tanks fences sheds and "hipstoric" cabins destroyed. However the house, gardens orchard and swales survived the blaze and we are actively working both on the home front and around the community in general. We REALLY need help now from intrepid traveling Nature lovers and any Australians who want to come out and help make a difference ( elders welcome)!!
    No Bushfire relief is going to look better than you folk! Hope we see you soon.
    Both Dave and I are Zoologists and keen bird watcher/naturalists, loving to guide you to mountain lookouts, rainforest creeks, fantastic sculptured rock pools and cascades of the Doyles River (which wraps around our,now 940 wild acres and drops over 200m in 2kms).
    The winter garden is in and we have vegies new to many,such as Okinawa Spinach, native Warrigal Greens,Purslane,Fat Hen and Kale; also loads of salad vegies and herbs come direct for our lunchtime feasts. The well stocked pantry of home made produce, includes herbed olives, walnuts, macadamia nuts, bamboo shoots, assorted jams,pickles, bottled fruits,sauces and cordial. Meals are cooked on the old faithful wood stove which also supplies hot water.
    Our son Dylan is a mountain biker and has GPS mapped 31kms of trails on the land. Clearing and defining these tracks is currently in process and we have an electric mountain bike for you to try.
    Our local community is actively transitioning to a resilient future beyond fossil fuels and projects like the "Oxygen Farm" Conservation Reserve,Solar array on the local Hall,the Community Health Centre and Old Timbermill regeneratation project can also be part of your experience.
    You will be genuinely welcomed & appreciated here . We are "off-grid" on solar power with data limited satelite internet and WiFi available. We are happy to pick you up from the closest towns - Wingham/ Taree/ Port Macquarie but as it is a 3 to 4 hr return trip we need for you to plan for a one week minimum stay if you don't have your own transport.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our home has a verandah all around and a covered walkway to the childrens bedroom wing, Sue who came as a wwoofer and stayed is in one room and the other with 3 single beds is available for helpers.
    Other helpers can also come with an independent camping setup (near to the main house) . Flush toilet(septic) and composting toilet. Woodstove runs cooking and hot water to shower in inside bathroom. Satelite TV,WiFi and internet,skype. No mobile phone reception.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We enjoy taking our helpers on bushwalks and to local beauty spots and community events . The Ellenborough Falls in our local village 22kms away is the second longest single drop waterfall in the southern hemisphere (200m) but there are several others and an Oxygen Farm and an old Sawmill which is now a community owned company hosting diverse events. Work is flexible depending on weather conditions and tasks we need to complete so we try for a good balance of work and recreation and are happy to take our visitors out sightseeing in our local area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 855434325183