Help us with yard chores and learn about sustainable food practices in Manitoba, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 10 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a small organic grain farm right off Hwy 16. Myself (Marika Age 21) and my parents, Denise and Dennis.
    There are some farm chores that we could use help with but mostly yard work. We have a few animals and a large garden that needs tending and small tasks around the yard. Currently we are raising rabbits, pigs, and laying hens.
    We eat meat but are happy to accommodate vegan or vegetarian diets.

    The farm is about 30 min from Riding Mountain National park which has many summer activities and beautiful hiking/biking trails.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers can learn gardening and sustainable food practices. We collect manure from our animals to maintain our gardens and rain off our house. We are trying to maintain not just plant health but soil health as well.

    I also make most of our food from scratch. We can teach how to make fresh fruit pies, pasta, and other baked goodies.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are happy to have you decide what jobs fit you best. You might be helping cook, doing dishes, gardening, Cutting wood or even beautifying the yard with some paintings!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Beginner
    Swedish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a motorhome that is currently being outfitted into a bunk house. One of your jobs would be assisting in it’s conversion to make it a permanent hone for guests to have their own space.

    We are happy to support vegan, vegetarian, GF, or other special diets.

    You will have access to high speed wifi, a warm bed and shower.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transit in the area but we are happy to pick up workers or drive with you to local events you wish to attend.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have unlimited highspeed internet.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    A workaway with their own campervan would be more than welcome!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 146298355846