Help at our family home and explore the nature and culture in British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/06/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4. Our two boys, aged 15 & 8, live with us 50% of the time. Both of us are in our very early 40's and have previously lived overseas. We are active in sports and music, and just need help keeping up with household chores, the garden, cooking and working on renovations in the house. We have 1 dog, 2 cats, and 1 bearded dragon.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak English in our home, but we also are able to speak Portuguese and German. Have the opportunity to explore the nature and culture in British Columbia

  • Help

    Help

    Generally there is always an adult at home to work with or at least instruct/guide you. In the garden, depending on the time of year, we need help with planting, weeding, and watering.
    Our past workawayers have helped with laying flooring, sanding/painting, walking the dog, preparing food for the bearded dragon, and housesitting.
    We'd like help with food preparation and cooking, and general house cleaning. We usually need a housesitter to care for the animals and garden for a week or two every summer when we are away, and maybe one or two other times a year.
    We are slowly renovating our home so any skills to help with small projects such as framing, carpentry, or building a retaining wall, general painting, decorating, repairing and so on, will be very useful.
    If you have music skills or math tutoring skills, and enjoy sharing those with children there is space for that, but it's not a priority for us.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our workawayer gets their own bedroom with a closet and queen sized bed. They have their own bathroom which they will only share part-time when our boys are home. We have a large house, and a reasonable sized outdoor space with hot tub. We have a little gym in our basement too. We tend to eat dinner together; breakfast and lunch are not always together due to work and school but there is a decent selection of food available including lactose free and gluten free items. We eat meat and try to eat as organically as possible.

    Our home is located directly on a city bus route. The city of Kamloops does have an airport.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a big nature park directly below our house that has world class mountain biking trails. SunPeaks is a ski resort that is 45 minutes away by car and has year round activities. There is a smaller, closer skihill called Harper Mountain, as well. Kamloops is a city of 100,000 with a big river flowing through its center, a wildlife park, and many many lakes in the area. It is very hot in the summer, and has relatively low precipitation all year round compared to other parts of British Columbia.
    Along with all the outdoor activities on offer, Kamloops also has shopping and good arts and culture. We have a symphony, theatre, music in the park etc.
    The indigenous population here hosts the largest PowWow in North America every year on the August long weekend.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 248144959989