Enjoy garden and home projects in rustic Prades, France

Country

France

Favourited 46 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a British/Kiwi couple new to living near the small provincial town of Prades, 40 kms from Perpignan. We were looking to move from the UK to the South of France and fell in love with this region on a holiday 5 years ago; captivated by its rustic charm and equidistance to skiing and the Mediterranean.

    At the moment Graham is minding the house on his own while Debra is away on a work assignment for a few months. Graham’s background is in engineering, insurance and IT and Debra’s in healthcare research so we're both able to homework if we so desire. Currently Graham is working from home so our hours of work tend to be flexible. In our spare time we enjoy outdoor activities, walking, sailing, cycling, golf, music and the arts.

    Two years ago we bought our lovely catalan style house with extensive grounds where we enjoy life outdoors, the pool and alfresco dining. Below the house is a wooded hillside leading down to a stream; which we are in the process of creating to grow vegetables and fruit trees, adopt some chickens, as well as create spaces for leisure.

    We live 1.5 kilometres from the town, in a tranquil location with magnificent mountain views of the Canigou (snow-capped Nov-Jun, winter piste skiing 1hr drive). In spring our property is alive with birdsong. The Bohére irrigation canal is a short distance from the house linking walks in the area such as a 1hour stroll to the Abbey St Michael de Cuxa, nearby villages of Taurinya and Clara, as well access to mountain walking or biking. The main bus/train station linking the area is also a short walk away and the nearest airport is Perpignan.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Geographically this region is located in the foothills of the Pyrenees and shares both French and Catalan culture. It is historically linked with Spanish Civil War refugees, in particular Pablo Casals exiled in Prades (see festival below).

    The Prades tourist office ‘Tourisme Conflent de Canigou’ provides a range of local and historical information on cultural activities, sites, outdoor pursuits and a calendar of events.

    Prades and the region hold local weekly markets displaying local produce and artistic wares. It is a joy to sense the local bustle and busking as one meanders through the stalls. These are easily accessible by local transport.

    Medieval architecture is predominant in the surrounding communities and landscapes and can be explored through tourist routes and walks of religious heritage such as Saint-Martint du Canigou and Sainit-Jacques de Calahons to name a couple.

    Festival activities celebrated in this region transcend art, film, music and culture. Prades has a small museum and art gallery, in the surrounding region there are a number of local ateliers. The Lido cinema holds an annual french film festival. The festival ‘La Fête des Feux’ de la St Jean in June celebrates the summer solstice. The famous ‘Pablo Casals Festival’ (since 1955) commemorates the life of this cellist extraordinaire. There is a Catalan Summer University Week in August.

    Perpignan is a large city offering numerous shopping and services. Tourist spots in part include the old town, gothic Palace of the Kings of Majorca, Hyacinthe Rigaud Museum of baroque and modern art, markets, a day at the beach.

  • Help

    Help

    Over the next couple of years we are going to be working on house and garden projects with an overall aim of reducing our carbon footprint. If you have skills to offer that would be great, otherwise we can teach you what we know as we work together. We continue to work on house DIY projects. This summer we will be clearing an area to create a vegetable garden and Boules pitch as well as general garden maintenance.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are an English speaking couple, also learning French, we did a course at Perpignan university this Spring and would enjoy helping people improve their English and if you are a French speaker we would love to learn more from you.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double bedroom or can be configured as a twin with own shower room on the ground floor with easy access to terrace and swimming pool. See bedroom and bathroom pictures. Kitchen facilities upstairs, but once the renovation work is complete this room will become part of a self-contained apartment with own kitchen and lounge space..

    All meals will be provided and will usually be taken together, either indoors or outdoors, breakfast is less formal. We are happy to share kitchen duties and if you have some favourite dishes you would like to share with us we invite you to use the kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Leisure activities ….

    Experience this rustic region exploring a local medieval village. Hike in the Pyrenees. Take a local bus/train to Perpignan and visit the Mediterranean beaches and coastline. Cross the border to Spain for a day or more.

    Prades provides all essential amenities, banques, supermarkets, cafes, transport options to explore nearby historic villages such as Mosset, Eus, Villefranche. Outdoor pursuits such as canyoning and mountaineering, biking and walking trails are all accessible.

    We are a short walk 10-15mins from the main bus and train station. Public transport is subsidised in this department, costing 1 euro per journey. In addition, 'Le Petit Train Jaune' (the little yellow train) operating since 1910, runs 63kms into the Pyrenees mountain towns and is well worth a trip.

    Enjoy the outdoors and simple pleasures such as local markets, indulging in local ripe summer fruits, sunning by our pool, playing an instrument if you would like to bring one, we also have a Nord Stage piano.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Graham is a digital nomad himself so we understand the needs of those who enjoy the combination of lifestyles. The room available has a desk, internet and is in a quiet part of the house with a tranquil outlook onto trees and the mountains beyond.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.3)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.5)







Host ref number: 653877597132