Talk with Japanese people at my language cafe in Tokyo, Japan

updated

Favourited 1934 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    76  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    23/11/2017

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Last update:22th, Nov, 2017
    ---------------------------------------------------
    *️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️I was busy and couldn't reply to most of messages recently. Please text me again if you didn't get a reply yet*️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️
    *️️️️️️️️️️️For men => One bed is available from Dec 30th. For February & March, I need a person who can stay for both Feb & Mar.*️️️️️️️️️️️
    *️️️️️️️️️️️For women => few beds are available from now. For February & March, I need a person who can stay for both Feb & Mar.*️️️️️️️️️️️

    I'm now especially looking for people who can speak at least two languages from (English, French, German, Italian, Spanish) fluently.
    Of course other people also can apply, but there is less possibility to have a bed.
    Basically minimum one month, and maximum 2 months.
    ---------------------------------------------------
    I'm busy, so, sometimes I can't reply. If you don't get a reply, I'm really sorry but please do not wait for my answer and find other hosts.
    I usually have time on Tuesday & Wednesday daytime, so mostly I reply to messages on these days.
    If you think you are interesting and have many things to talk about (life experience), please, don't hesitate to send me a message :)

    ---------------------------------------------------

    --------Experience the lifestyle in Tokyo!---------

    ---------------------------------------------------
    Over 200 people have joined so far, some of them start living in Japan after, some of them got a partner from here.

    You can have one or two months experience of life in Tokyo!

    I will offer you "a house to live", "friends to enjoy together", and "things to do".
    Through this project, I hope you will like Japan more than before coming.

    The basic description is, stay at my shared apartment and explore Japan with friends (or yourself),
    then talk with Japanese people about what you did or what you want to do.

    1:House to live
    I have a shared apartment in Shinjuku city in Tokyo.
    It is a very convenient location to travel around Tokyo.

    2:Friends to enjoy together
    Over 10 people join this project at once.
    They live togheter (house for guys and girls are in a different location though),
    so very easy to get along with and able to make a lifelong friend.

    3:Things to do (talk session)
    I'm managing a language cafe near the house, and most customers here speak
    English very well. Talk with them about what you did in Japan, and get more
    information about Japanese places or culture in English or some other language.
    The cafe has customers in various kinds of work, from many generations and from all over Japan,
    You can know their lifestyle or way of thinking, and you also can be a friend with them.

    Every month I will make some cultural event for you.
    Ex.)Japanese traditional tea ceremony with a professional teacher, join Japanese festivals,
    Go to a traditional Japanese restaurant and see how the food is prepared etc.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    Talk sessions are just 4 or 5 days in a week, 3 or 4 hours per day. (Total 15 hours per week).

    Just talk with Japanese people in English or some other language which you can speak.
    Sometimes people who can't speak these languages join, in that case you may speak
    slowly, and make easy questions for them.
    You will have plenty of time to explore Tokyo!
    Every week you can get 2 non-session days in a row, which let you go for a small trip to other parts of Japan.
    (Using a night bus is good for low budget travel, I can arrange a bus if you want!)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Japanese, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have shared apartments, with 4 beds for males, and 8 beds for females (guys and girls can not stay in a same house).
    You will share a kitchen, restroom, shower and washing machine with other residents.
    No food, I only prepare the beds (with bedding).

    --About the house--
    [For girls]
    Shared room with 2 or 4 people.
    8 min walk from Shin-Okubo station, JR Yamanote line. 12 min walk from my cafe. Shin-Okubo is the next stop of Shinjuku. Very convenient area.

    [For guys]
    Big shared room with 4 people.
    9min walk from Takadanobaba station, JR Yamanote line. 14 min walk from my cafe. Modern design full furnished apartment. Takadanobaba has both JR Yamanote line & metro Tozai line, very useful.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Since my cafe stands for over 30 years, there are many fans in all over the world. I was also a customer since 8 years ago, and took over from the ex owner 5 years ago. I really like talking with people and sharing our experience together.
    I hope we can meet and talk with many interesting people through Workaway :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 hours a week

My Photo Album

Girl's dormitory for 4 people
Girl's dormitory for 2 people






























































Host ref number: 251686669767