• United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Top Workawayer

Profile is connected to:

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently


    My next destination:

    Oregon, United States
    View all
  • Description


    I'm Pierre and I can't wait to embark on my long-term journey of discovery and connection around the world! I was born in Egypt, but have lived in California for nearly 30 years. I’m thrilled to be on Workaway and have been participating in work exchanges nearly continuously since mid-2019. It’s been a blast!

    I left my corporate job in the tech industry working as a hardware engineer designing robotics and consumer electronics to work towards my dream of living a simpler life and homesteading. I love getting to live in different countries and steeping myself in different cultures, traveling and doing things slowly. It’s been a joy getting to know so many people and see how everyone likes to do things.

    My favorite parts of Workaway are the social interactions. I love exchanging stories with my hosts and other volunteers. I love sharing meals together and teaching and learning how to make new dishes. I enjoy outings with hosts or other volunteers and getting to discover the local area.

    After being a part of more than 20 work exchanges, I can say that my favorite hosts were the ones who saw me as a potential friend and took pleasure in sharing their abundance. Although the vast majority have been very good experiences, the ones that I enjoyed least were the ones where I was viewed as a laborer to be exploited, maximized and minimally interacted with.

    I’m not your typical early-20’s volunteer. I have a lot of experience, and I’m not looking for a job. I’m on Workaway because it is a soul building, connecting and beautiful experience. It’s been a way for me to preview the homesteading lifestyle, make friends around the globe, and gain insights about many things.

    Here’s a small sampling of things I can do: milk goats, milk cows, move electric fencing, feed all types of animals, take care of children, teach English/Math/Science, build a shed/deck/chicken coop, make cob, lime plaster, chop and split firewood, use a chainsaw/tractor/excavator, manage ‘weeds’, build fencing, prepare compost, plant seeds, harvest crops, preserve foods by drying/pickling/fermenting/canning/smoking, make cheese, make cured meats, make wine/beer/spirits, repair electronics, drive stick-shift, use a welder/milling machine/sawmill, creatively brainstorm and solve problems, etc.

    I am certified as a permaculture designer. I’m interested in polyculture, food forests, capturing and retaining water on the land, working with animals, studying nature, building with regeneration and permaculture ethics in mind, rediscovering methods that have been forgotten or lost to time, off-grid technologies, intentional communities, and food as medicine.

    Hosting considerations:

    For food, I am omnivorous. Ok with periods of 100% vegetarianism, but do enjoy a small supplement of occasional meat if it is well sourced. I have no allergies or aversions. I choose to eat as close to 100% organically as possible. Please let me know if providing organic food is an issue and I can either make arrangements to bring my own food, or look elsewhere to somewhere more aligned with my philosophies. (I believe that to take care of the earth and each other, we must first take care of ourselves, and that includes what we put into our bodies.) I love to cook and I’m happiest when eating straight out of a garden.

    For accommodations, I’m quite low maintenance. I enjoy using outdoor kitchens and out-houses and I’m comfortable with an off-grid lifestyle. I’ve stayed in barns, sheds, campers, tents, yurts, and nicely appointed rooms. They’re all fine. Some internet access or cell service is preferable because I’m a continuous learner and I’m always looking up how to do things or learning a bit of history, or keeping in touch with friends and family.

    For work, I highly prefer not to use petroleum based tools if possible. Electric chainsaws and other counterparts to engine based tools exist and they are quieter and less smelly. Even more enjoyable than electric to me are good hand tools. I will happily scythe your field to get rid of your weeds, but maybe I could first convince you why weeds aren't the enemy. :)

    I look forward to collaborating with you!

  • Languages spoken

    Arabic: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Electrical and electronics knowledge
    Troubleshooting and repairing things
    Cooking and food preservation
    Taking care of animals
    Outdoor construction
    Natural building
    Woodworking, metalworking
    Hand tools, power tools, precision equipment
    Digital fabrication tools (3D printers, laser cutters, CNC mills, etc)

  • Age


  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements