Come and help with my organic garden and permaculture forest garden project in West Cork, Ireland

  • Ireland
  • Favourited 348 times
  • Last activity: 26/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello there and welcome to my eco friendly timber frame house in the heart of West Cork, about 2 mins drive from Dunmanway town. I have two adult children who have left home and live on my own these days with my cat Gizmo.
    I would like some help with my half acre permaculture project, forest, organic fruit, veg and herb garden and some DIY maintenance of my polytunnel, sheds and raised beds.
    I love to share and exchange cooking healthy meals, mainly vegetarian using my own produce where possible and can cater for vegetarians or vegans.
    My mum was a chef in Germany in the fifties, which has influenced my cooking together with my study of Macrobiotics and the Chinese Five Element Principles back in the nineties.
    I work mostly from home as a therapist and may disappear into my treatment room for the odd session. Depending on Covid restrictions I may teach a few local Yoga classes and you can join me if you wish or stay at home with Gizmo.
    I have lots of books to look at, mostly in English, some in German and plenty board games for wet evenings, also love arts and crafts, always something in the making... and maybe skills to share? And stories...

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I speak fluent English and German so there will be plenty opportunity to practice your language skills.

    Learn about medicinal herbs for teas, oils and ointments, foraging, food for medicine.

    Learn about regenerative organic gardening and working with the land and the seasons.

    Join me in my daily yoga and Do-In practice or at my Yoga classes only if you like of course.

    Get to know the locals, depending on covid restrictions in pubs, at local music gigs or at my yoga classes

  • Help

    Help

    Help in my 1/2 acre organic permaculture garden and polytunnel with regenerating soil microbes and fungi, composting, fertilizing brews, green manures, mulching, weeding, mostly no dig and a few raised beds, planting, harvesting and preserving, fruit, veggies and herbs for home use, I make oils and ointments from my own dried herbs, a great variety of tasks, all depending on the season.

    Help with extending my forest garden and ornamental wild flower garden with spiral/labyrinth.

    Help with general outdoor maintenance for existing flowerbeds, grass cutting and strimming.

    DIY maintenance with a few outdoor painting jobs and small repair jobs (raised beds and compost surrounds).

    Help with website and social media maintenance.

    We will also share doing the daily chores around the house.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be sharing my eco-friendly timber frame house with me and my cat Gizmo (although he is used to staying outside most of the time)
    I have two small and basic spare bedrooms, one with a futon and the other with a double bed, shared bathroom with flush toilet, bathtub and shower (heated by solar panel and solid fuel in the winter months).
    We also share the living area and kitchen. I will provide food and produce, and we can share some of the cooking if you like. My house is clean, warm, bright and spacious.
    I have good mobile reception and use my phone to hotspot my PC and laptop for Zoom/Skype meetings and to watch the odd movie/documentary/TV show. I don't have any WIFI as there is no fibre connection to my house on top of the hill.
    My house is 2 mins drive away from Dunmanway, (20 mins down town and 30 mins up home by foot). You can also borrow one of my two bicycles.
    Dunmanway has bus connections to Cork city and Bantry/Glengarriff.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Get to know surrounding areas on foot, bicycle or by bus during your time off.

    If you wish you may join me to visit local markets and towns, and occasionally castles, lakes and other nearby scenic attractions, like the Gearagh, Gougane Barra, Glengarriff/Kilmurry Woods or the local beaches.

    During the summer/autumn I like to go swimming in the sea (about half an hours drive away) or in the river pools and you can join me if you like. Dunmanway also has an indoor 25m swimming pool including steam room, sauna hydrotherapy and kiddies pool.

    The Camino de Cork, the two day St Finbarr's Pilgrimage is practically on our doorstep starting in the nearby Drimoleague, Top of the Rock to Gougane Barra (ca 30k). I can drop you off there if that's your idea of spending a weekend.

    Although I am new to Workaway, I've had positive experiences with hosting wonderful volunteers through another website for a number of years prior to Covid.

    You may have heard of our rainy Irish weather, so please don't forget to bring raingear and wellies or good sturdy boots. And some work gloves for the garden work would be very helpful.

    Please let me know if you have any specific requirements regarding food intolerances, allergies etc

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 899537719819

Feedback (7)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













Help with the house with our family in West Cork, Ireland
Single mom welcomes help with childcare in Galway, Ireland