Help with a number of outstanding projects around our place in Polis Chrysochous, Cyprus

  • Cyprus
  • Favourited 195 times
  • Last activity: 19 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks



  • Description


    Despite of being one of the older profiles all is pretty much still valid as of today 9th December 2022

    65 years of world travelling with a German PP & now living in sunny Cyprus close to Polis Chrysochous (about 7km away from the coast) at the northwestern part of this beautiful island. The area is best described as rural but the " European Cultural Capital of 2017 " Paphos is only a 33-minute bus drive away. From our house it's a 5 minute walk to the bus station. The "main road" is connecting Polis with Paphos throughout the week almost on an hourly basis.
    If we have things to do in Paphos you can always get a lift at least one way. But then again bus tickets are not expensive so you can easily move about following your own schedule.

    Please carefully read below where GARDENING is mentioned !!! I noticed that gardening is pretty much on anybody's "skill" list but now I need someone who actually enjoys "working" in the garden and has an interest in planting stuff.
    So please do mention in your initial message that you are actually in tune with nature and will be able to maintain the garden mostly on your own initiative (!) . That is to say that you should be able to differ between wild growing weed and eatable plants at least -) AND also You should have some general concept of gardening .
    Those who are challenged to work in the garden should bring something else to the party....... if you have woodworking and / or technical skills then you are most welcome as well.
    Then there is a Land Rover Defender (1990 with 300 Tdi engine) "project" in need of rewiring . So if you are a car mechanic then I so much appreciate your valuable input :-))
    So really there is work for almost all who are not afraid to get their hands dirty. Own initiative withing the different tasks is key .

    There are 2 dogs living with us and we have tried to teach them how to feed the chicken & look after the irrigation system B U T that was only with very limited success ;)
    Therefore the ideal volunteer should be able to handle Lilly (female Staffie) & Red ( Male Amstaff) if the need arises.
    It really does not happen but one never knows.
    Also any volunteer should survive on her/his own for a day or two if needed.

    The nearest International Airport is located close to Paphos (our District) but there are far more flights to Lanarca Int. Airport.
    We can mostly pick you up from Paphos Airport but would ask any potential visitor to take the Airport shuttle from Larnaca to Paphos if needed. If you are already on the island then traveling to our area will be no problem for you .

    We don´t usually drink alcohol but do n o t care if someone enjoys the occasional glass of wine or beer.
    We just don´t accept intoxicated people and must please insist on a strict "Non-Smoking Policy " in and near to the house. If you can't live without a smoke every hour then probably our place is not ideal 4U.
    Thank You for your kind understanding.

    We mostly eat pretty irregularly with no set meal times throughout the day.
    Kindly Note (!) and understand that you must look after yourself when it comes to regular meals. We provide local veggies and fruits in season . LOCAL & in SEASON is key to note here please. There is rice , pasta, sweet potatoes for staple food if needed . All of which is good quality BUT please note that we can't afford to buy strictly organic stuff.

    This is not to say that we will not share meals together if we can . However, there is no dedicated cook here so you better have some idea about how to survive without mother ..............
    Also, we not strictly vegetarians but most of the time we enjoy a fruit-based breakfast and have salad & veggies during the day. We are almost completely off meat & fish but we have chicken who deliver eggs at times :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The more philosophical approach " ... in a world deluged by irrelevant information , clarity is power. In theory, anybody can join the debate about the future of humanity, but it is so hard to maintain a clear vision .
    Frequently, we don't even notice that a debate is going on , or what the key questions are.
    Billions of us can hardly afford the luxury of investigating, because we have more pressing things to do:
    we have to go to work, take care of the kids or look after elderly parents.
    Unfortunately , history gives no discounts.
    IF the future of humanity is decided in you absence, because you are too busy working & consuming you will not be exempt from the consequences !!! "
    So if this almost quote from Yuval Noah Harari " speaks " to you then we can can have hours of fruitful discussions on how we all can contribute to make this fu world a bit better in little steps and day by day ......
    Well, U are here and so there is hope :-)

    The more practical approach ..........
    There is a lot to learn with a number of outstanding projects including general maintenance , organic gardening, Irrigation systems plus bike & car service

  • Help


    Gardening !!! By that, I mean that you should be happy to work in the garden with an eye for what is an edible plant and what one might call weeds ;-) Independent work with an actual interest in planting and caring would be highly appreciated !!! There is an irrigation " system " which needs to be optimized, to say the least ........

    If gardening is really not your thing then, please think this offer over as it would be frustrating for both sides. HOWEVER,
    as mentioned above Housekeeping ,woodworking, building maintenance , painting and/or other technical skills are appreciated as well!

    Then there are the dogs ...... really fine creatures but in need of a firm hand as they take advantage of any weakness and clear your plate before you can ;-)
    No, they have their own quarters in the yard but need a walk of course. So it's playtime in the morning (as it's way to hot during the day) and usually a walk in the evening. Feel free to join if you like. We don't expect you to be the dog handler ........

    Lastly, it's worth mentioning that I might need to travel at times so the ideal candidate should be able (and happy) to stay here on her / his own for a couple of days. Of course, this would only happen after a familiarization period and ONLY if you are absolutely OK with it !!!

    So after reading all the above and some serious consideration at your end please feel free to contact us B U T please be kinda specific in what you see yourself doing here ;-0)
    Please do not just write " like your profile " be just a bit more precise and we will answer within 22 hours 17 Minutes the latest..........

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Greek: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    1 (one) bedroom with same level toilet & outside shower. There is an "outside" kitchen but well sheltered from the elements.
    There is a small but well equipped gym and as latest addition a wood stove fired sauna for the colder month.
    There is unlimited (but at times unstable) I-net access throughout the property.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The sea is not at our doorstep but near by. Diving and snorkeling gear is available for anyone qualified and of course there is a chance to learn diving as well. The Akamas peninsula is truly one of the nicest areas in Cyprus & cycling or off-road biking is much fun at any time during the year.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Fast reliable 24/7 WiFi BUT PLEASE NOTE we might experience power cuts during the winter season with Thunderstorms and / or heavy rains . Outage might last for a couple of hours at times.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Safe parking for at least one van.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week. We can be absolutely flexible on the hours. you can also take "days off" during the week as long as you compensate with longer working days.

Host ref number: 326523433298

Feedback (12)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)

Learn how to help feral Cats in Tala, Cyprus
Help me maintain and grow my farm, planting vegetables and fruits or looking after the animals in Vasa Koilaniou, Cyprus