Welcome to our home and family farm in Northeast Georgia, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 46 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    78.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is our family farm. We, Robert and Jennifer, have owned the farm for more than 10 years and are still developing our gardens and pastures. We have horses, chickens, a pig and dogs. Robert is a certified farrier (he shoes horses) and also trains horses for trail riding. Before moving to the mountains, Robert was a licensed automotive mechanic. He has a garage on the farm and works on our vehicles. Jennifer is a French teacher. She also leads wine and language immersion tours in Europe every summer. Jennifer does the gardening, cooking and canning of the produce from the farm. We are committed to growing without chemicals. We make our own compost and are working to improve the soil. Jennifer also saves seeds and the majority of the vegetables are from her seeds.

    We are looking for a single person or a couple who will help around the farm for one to two weeks. Most projects will be done with one of us, however there may be some independent tasks as well. We will tailor the help to your skills and the season.

    The schedule will vary from day to day - most days will be about 5 hours of help, some may be longer and there will be days off each week. We would like someone who will be more like a member of the family. We welcome you to join us for meals.

    The ideal person would be comfortable with horses. The ability to ride is not necessary, however the opportunity to ride or learn to ride is possible.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I, Jennifer, have traveled around the world and lived in both France and Japan. I would love to welcome people from around the world into our home in the ways that I have been invited into homes in many countries during my travels. As a language teacher and student of several languages, it would be a pleasure to help others improve their English and learn more about the United States. If you want to practice your French, that is not a problem! I also welcome the opportunity to improve my Spanish, Italian and Japanese.

    Robert loves to teach and show people about what he does - working with horses, riding horses, animal husbandry, construction and working on vehicles. He is easygoing and a very encouraging teacher.

  • Help

    Help

    All activities are on our farm, which is our home. Chores may include feeding the animals, helping in the garden (harvesting, weeding, planting), completing construction projects (building fences, rehabbing an old stone building for a potting shed/green house, adding shed roofs to the shop), pasture management (bush-hogging, weed-eating, mowing), trail clearing, help in the kitchen (canning, food preparation). None of the activities involve our actual jobs - Jennifer is a French teacher and leads tours in Europe; Robert is a farrier and travels to farms to shoe horses for a living.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a camper that you may stay in, or you may pitch a tent. If you choose the camper, it has a queen size bed, table, refrigerator, stove top and coffee maker. You will have access to a bathroom as well as a washer and dryer in our home. We will provide sheets and towels. If you prefer a tent, we have one available or you may pitch your own.

    We invite the workawayers to join us for at least one meal a day. The fridge in the camper will be stocked with the basics and we'll do a grocery store run at least once a week. If you would prefer to eat on your own, that is fine. If we have to be away for a meal, we will let you know in advance so that you may prepare something or make other arrangements.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm is surrounded by the U.S. National Forest and is about 15 minutes from the town of Toccoa in northeast Georgia. It is a beautiful area in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains with access to trails for hiking and horseback riding as well as many streams, rivers and lakes for boating and fishing. We are about 2 hours north of Atlanta and 1 hour from Greenville, SC.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Snow at Black Mountain Ranch
Walking on the snow covered road at Black Mountain Ranch
Snow day at Black Mountain Ranch
The barn in the snow at Black Mountain Ranch
Seating area in camper at Black Mountain Ranch
Queen sized bed in camper at Black Mountain Ranch
Kitchen in camper at Black Mountain Ranch
Camper at Black Mountain Ranch
The garden is ready for planting!
A day's harvest from the garden at Black Mountain Ranch
Double rainbow over the horses and view from the camper where you'll be staying!
Robert riding one of the horses in front of our house.
Robert and Jennifer with the three farm dogs. The garden is behind us.
Robert at work.
Robert and Jennifer in Paris.

Host ref number: 974411257771