Learn about Alaskan life, caring for Huskies and Icelandic Horses on the lovely mountainside, outside Anchorage, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 98 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a lovely mountainside home 10 miles outside of Anchorage, Alaska in Eagle River. Lois, I am an advanced practice nurse who does much of my work from home, telemedicine and on line teaching. Eric, is a pediatrician at the Alaska Native Medical Center.

    There are great hiking trails right from our property. Our four legged family includes, very friendly Alaskan Huskies and Icelandic Horses. In the summer we have a small garden and greenhouse filled with flowers. Some extra help around the property would be wonderful. We also foster dogs and puppies for Alaskan Animal Rescue Friends. The horses are very friendly and if you have experience riding English style maybe you can go for a ride around the neighborhood trails.

    Our 24 year old daughter, about to enter veterinarian school and our 21 year old son, an engineering student, also live at home some of the time. We have traveled to many parts of the world as a family and individually and love to share our Alaskan life with others. Our first ten years in Alaska were spent in a bush community and we have understanding and interest in many other cultures.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about Alaskan life, caring for Alaskan Huskies, dog mushing, gardening, care of Icelandic Horses and have the opportunity to do some great hiking and adventuring in Alaska. We are a very active family and are willing to include you in our activities and travels in the area. Come with a sense of adventure and willingness to get out and enjoy the beauty of Alaska.

  • Help

    Help

    Help with gardening, care and feeding our Alaskan Huskies and Icelandic Horses. Feeding the dogs can be a bit messy if we have lots of rain and it gets muddy. We have lots of "work" clothes you can borrow. It is a fun and rewarding activity. General yard work, assisting with gardening or projects around the property. We will gladly share our knowledge and skills with others, no specialized skills required, just a love for animals and willingness for new adventures and a desire to be helpful. Alaska is a beautiful state that offers once in a lifetime opportunities if you have a sense of adventure and willingness to get out and enjoy the beauty and adventure.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Our son speaks German, and we speak some Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Single room with shared bath. We will be happy to include you in family meals. We try as often as possible to eat together as a family but with busy lives that is not always possible. We have a well stocked refrigerator and freezer with full access to guests. We also love to go to the farmers markets and purchase wonderful local vegetables in the summer. Absolutely NO SMOKING any where on the property. Light alcohol use is acceptable.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Public transportation is very limited in most of Alaska including our area, we frequently travel into Anchorage and down our hill to Eagle River daily and will be glad to give you rides as much as possible. Our home is about two miles from the center of Eagle River. In the summer there are buses and trains to other parts of Alaska for trips around the state. Be prepared to have a sense of adventure and see the real Alaska and all of the beauty everywhere. Accomodations in other parts of Alaska are limited and very expensive in the summer. A sense of adventure and willingness to camp or stay in hostels will open up many opportunities for you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, five days a week, varies and can be flexible


Host ref number: 183294379154

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more