updated  

House sitter needed in off-grid living in the Bradshaw mountains, central Arizona, USA

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I live in the Bradshaw mountains in central Arizona. About 80 miles north of Phoenix. Here we are at 5,500 ft in elevation, on 14acres of land in open canopy forest with oak, ponderosa, juniper, and manzanita. I need help with trail building, putting in a garden, putting up wood for winter, and plastering my straw bale house, among other things. I live with two horses, two cats, 11 chickens. We are ten miles from the closest town on a dirt road, in the Prescott National Forest. I gather water from the roof, compost my manure. I can get internet here, most of the time. I’ve been here for 30 years, am 70 years young and know a lot about living like this, horses, and natural history, among other things. I love sharing stories and songs and have myself traveled extensively in North America and Europe, back in the day.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I know a lot about horses, how to live off grid, natural history, permaculture, new paradigms, working 12 step programs over 30 years. I have a strong spiritual life. I’m a storyteller, singer, danced in a belly dance troupe for 15 years, spent many years as an environmental activist.

  • Help

    Help

    I’d love help with mud plastering my straw bale house, gardening, clearing trails on the land, cutting, splitting and stacking wood for winter heat, maintenance, helping with the horses, fixing fences.
    If the person is willing and computer savvy, I could sure use some help with my website.
    And also occasional house sitting when I am away. :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Rustic!! There is a travel trailer, with porches and a room built on it with a gas refrigerator, gas stove, 100 gallon tank of water that gravity feeds to the house in the summer, and a wood stove for heat, in the winter.
    Please be advised that I live in a place where there are many creatures, various types of rodents, bugs, reptiles, scorpions, coyotes, bobcats, etc…
    Sometimes rodents, bugs, spiders etc… will get in the trailer. You will not be alone!
    Toilet is a bucket with sawdust. I compost my humanure.
    There is an outdoor shower for summer.
    I have two tents people can use.
    I’ll be happy to feed people, or they can cook for themselves, we can eat together, I work in town, if need be, I /we can make food ahead.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It’s remote out here, There is rugged hiking all around us in the national forests. There are some neighbors around, we get together socially. I go to town regularly to work, so I can drive people in for movies or whatever. I read and listen to podcasts a lot, play with my horses, hike and work around my place…

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    The road in to my place is dirt for ten miles through mountains with one creek crossing. Depending on the weather, we can have many creek crossings… Most of the time, the road is good. If you have a very long bus, the road twists and turns and can be a challenge. I have a thirty foot horse trailer that I pull with a truck, and travel the road with no problem. Nonetheless, this road is not for the faint of heart.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 159843893686

Feedback (4)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Help out on a small homestead and artistic space in Selma, Alabama, USA
Projects in beautiful Sisters Oregon, USA