Old family farm with rabbits and a cat in Sunnmøre, Norway

  • Norway
  • Favourited 31 times
  • Last activity: 30/12/2022

Availability

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I am Vendel, a 40 year old farmerlady who live at the familyfarm in Åram, Vanylven, close to the west cape. I have blackberries, chokeberries and rhubarb at the moment, but will plant gooseberries and red currant in the spring of 2022. In the next weeks I hope to start quail-hatching and I also keep rabbits. My 13 year old cat, Roar, is a nice companion and on the cuddly side. If you hate cats or are allergic, this is maybe not the best place as he is an indoor cat. The house I live in was built by my great grandparents in the year 1900 and the land has been in my family's ownership for 500 years. So it obviously means a great deal to me to try and take care of the land and buildings. The farm is located in a remote part of Vanylven.

    There is no produce before at least one year from now, maybe two. I grow berries, but the bushes are too young to produce. The farm is a small farm that has been in my family for 500 years.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I will try and show you around, I really like getting around myself and know many places, especially in the west of Norway, since I have commuted this area since 2010.
    I have been working in the touristindustry in Norway for ten years and have quite a bit of experience with different cultures. I really like getting to know people from all around the world and like to have people feel welcome.

  • Help

    Help

    I need help with lots of things, take your pick!
    Woodwork, fertalizing plants in the spring, animalcare (quail, cat and rabbits at the moment), keeping the house, building rabbits cages for summer use, picking rocks from the ground, grasscontrol in the summer, painting inside and outside and also sometimes house- and catsitting if I need to travel somewhere.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    Russian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Trying to learn a bit of russian, but also interested in german, japanese, french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house is an old, but cosy timberhouse. I mainly use wood for heating. There are two bedrooms with doublebeds and one tiny bedroom with singlebed. I do dishes by hand. I have washing machine for clothes and tumble dryer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The neighbors are not far away, but it is quite rural here. If you like partylife in the city, it is difficult to find around here, so someone staying here will have to make their own fun. It is only 120 meters to the shoreline, so fishing can be done on a daily basis. There is also good mountainhiking areas and you can walk to one of the highest mountains in the area, Nystøylhornet, directly from the farm. From there you get a panoramic view towards the Sunnmøre Alps and on the opposite side you get a view straight out into the NorthSea.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have fiber wifi which usually works very well. You can sit in the living room or by yourself in another room.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    The road isn't great, so at the moment I can't host big campervans. However it is a priority to fix the road, so feel free to ask me.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 966356417624

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Expose yourself to organic farming and help with permaculture at our eco village in Undrumsdal, Norway
Be crew on a sailboat sailing up the coast of Norway