Support our permaculture, reforestation and intentional community project in the province of Cádiz, Spain

  • Spain
  • Favourited 728 times
  • Last activity: 26/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a permaculture project just outside of the town of Vejer de la Frontera in the province of Cádiz, Spain. Our work is primarily focused on restoring the functionality of our ecosystem while regenerating the landscape. As a small group of people working and living together, we believe that correct water management is key to addressing climate change. In the past 8 years we've created a water retention landscape with zero runoff, while accelerating the succession of a degraded, deforested landscape into a forest with abundant food production.

    As we continue to design and implement more work on our project, we are especially looking for volunteers with experience in working with trees, food production systems, cooking and food processing, and construction.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be connected to a different range of local alternative initiatives, speaking different languages and learning Spanish.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Most of the help is outdoors. We need help all year long and every season has its specific needs.

    Generally speaking: Reforestation, gardening and food production, pruning, food transformation and cooking, natural building, maintenance and upgrading of the land design.
    Basic tasks of daily life that we share with all of the people working here.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a main house where we welcome volunteers. We provide vegetarian and mostly organic and local food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are situated about 8 km from pristine beaches, and a 30 minute walk from town. There are many beautiful places to cycle and hike nearby. We can lend bicycles to travelers. We are about a 45 minute drive from the city of Cadiz, or Tarifa.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We are gladly able to host Digital nomads, so long as they are able to work the expected hours on the project.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have areas for campervans

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 157965436782

Feedback (18)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)






























Seeking General maintenance male worker in Santa Pola, Spain
Help at our home in the countryside close to Alicante city