Help out with some projects at our home in the village of Çanakkale, Turkey

Country

Turkey

Favourited 3 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/08/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello friend! Come and join us up in the mountains, surrounded by oaks, pines, mullberries and more, listen to the songs of the birds and crickets.

    We live as a couple in this beautiful village and we need hands and hearts to support us to build our house and outdoor areas. After our years of studying and working as an engineer and a designer, we gave up the city life and moved to a rural village 5-6 years ago.

    **We are looking for people that can stay at least for a few weeks and be a part of the organisation of the work. We want to have a balanced division of labor and for you to be the responsible executer of your work.**

    A little about us: We love being in the nature, working with our hands, making music, sharing our experiences and ideas about living in a collective, creating spaces that nourish the people and the nature. We play chess, read books drinking our homemade wine and dance under the full moon. We mostly eat vegetarian (aside from occasional sustainably caught fish for omega3) it is okay if you are not, but vegetarian diet is what we support in our land, and we would be glad if you join us with that.

    We need to nourish our bodies and souls as well so we need help with cooking, artistic explorations, singing, moving our bodies, playing games and meditating.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are currently working on several projects and we enjoy sharing what we do and know with others.

    Depending on the season, weather and our motivation we make wine, beer, sour dough bread, water kefir, preserves from the garden, cheese, growing/foraging mushrooms, picking herbs etc. We can share what we know and you can join in for first hand experience.

    We enjoy trying out new languages, Italian and Swedish being our current interests. We also enjoy making music/ dancing together. We are amateurs so a curious spirit is all we need for joinşng in :) We play trumpet and ukulele and we have some more instruments that you can try.

    We also would love to chat about arts, books and culture. And we would be immensly happy if you beşng us some seeds that you are drawn to. We also have a seedbank that you can check out :)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Help us with building our home! Bring in your hands and your heart!

    *** We are looking for people that can stay at least for a few weeks and be a part of the organisation of the work. We want to have a balanced division of labor and for you to be the responsible executer of your work. ***

    Main tasks:

    Building stone walls of the house - How exciting it is to be a hands on part of creating a home for someone! We have local stones from a house that was tore down and we are using those stones to build our walls! If you are experienced with masonry, you are a gem! If you have lots of energy you can offer for mixing mortar and carrying stuff, you are a gift!

    Cooking - Keeping everyone well fed and happy. We have a vegetarian diet so please be prepared to cook and eat in that way. We prefer not to have meat cooked, you can bring dairy products if you want.

    Carpentry - Roof, floors, furniture, doors.. joyful smell of wood!

    Working is done on a voluntary basis so you can take time for yourself, we believe that the best work comes when you feel good :)

    That being said we wish our volunteers to share the workload so around 4-5 hours of work a day should be expected. During the summer time to avoid overheating, we start working early in the morning around 7ish, eat some fruits and work till midday to take a break between 11:30 to 16:30 (eat and have some free time) and work again between 16:30 -19:30.

    If you want to join us please contact us and provide your full name, date of arrival, your travel situation (due to COVID-19 we need to know your itinary and health situation) your skills/ interests and how long you plan to stay as far in advance as you can.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner
    Swedish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in our land that is next to the forest, with an amazing view and sunsets. Main accomodation will be your own tents and camper vans.

    In the land we will have an let and shower which has only stream water but there is a guesthouse 5 minues by foot where we go for occasional warm showers. There also will be an outdoor cooking area available. (Work in progress)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are mostly isolated from civilization- surrounded by forests, valleys, mountains and we may go days without stumbling upon someone.

    There is cellphone coverage and decent WiFi.

    HOW TO GET HERE
    Even though isolated, it is fairly easy to get here. The closest airports are either Istanbul or Canakkale.

    From there you can take a bus to Çan or Bayramiç. We are in a village called Osmaniye that is in the middle of both towns -30 minutes (bus/ hitchhike) from either.

    You can take a bus to Bayramiç from Çanakkale, and then another bus to Çan from Bayramiç. Tell the driver that you will be getting off at Yaniklar Village intersection. Now you are 9kms away from the village! :) From there you can hitchike or we can pick you up.

    If you come on a wednesday we can pick you up from Bayramiç since it is our shopping day. We can meet at the center of Bayramiç. You can use Truva Turizm, Pamukkale, Kamilkoç for the trip.

    You can also take a bus to Çan from İstanbul (Kamilkoç is the only company) and from there take a minibus to Bayramiç and get off at Yanıklar (Starts at 9 and ends at 17 everyday so plan the first bus accordingly).

    FACILITIES
    The nearest small shop is 7 km away from the village. We will provide food so you don't need to worry about that but if you have special requirements, you need to take care of them yourself. We will be visiting the market every Wednesday where you can get what you need.

    EXPENSES
    We have a gift box to cover the expenses of internet, food and gasoline, donation is appreciated but not obligatory :)

    Looking forward to meeting you!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We also occasionally work from home on design and research projects and you are welcomed to doing your work in your free time. We can arrange a space for that :)

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Just below our land there is a wide road where you can park your van. There is very seldom traffic, just occasioanl cars and motorbikes (not more than one a day) and you will be close to the land if you prefer to :) We wont be able to offer electricity or water aside from the land.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 427792825185