Come and stay in a rural village northwest of Lisbon and help with all kinds of tasks

Country

Portugal

Favourited 296 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    72  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    175

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Olá, I am Anir, a happy 67 year-young Dutch woman. I lived for almost 18 years in the lower mountains of Central Portugal together with my animals. There, from 2013, I received many volunteer-guests. Together we did small building jobs, took care of the animals, worked in the gardens and went on short trips. A great joy!!
    Now, it's already two years ago I've moved from my off grid life in the 'campo'; from the mountains to a village close to the seaside.
    I love Workaway idea, so I moved it with me!

    I'm an artist, and in the past I have done a number of projects in the national and international art community. After all this years of doing something else, I recently picked up my profession again.
    Mountains have been moved since the move, mostly with the help of Workaway volunteers! A small garden has been realized, that only needs now some maintenance. My studio is ready and I am regularly working there.
    Besides my art, I like gardening, vegan or vegetarian cooking, reading, writing and taking walks. I speak intermediate-level Portugese and am still learning the language. Sometimes I take trips to the seaside or go to explore interesting locations nearby. I also like visiting local markets. I find these trips to be much more enjoyable together with somebody else. I like to show my guest volunteers the local countryside, historical villages/spots, archaeological sites and other special places in the area.
    If possible, I like to work on projects with my guests. On the other hand, I expect you to be able to work independently, so that I have the space to work intensively on my work.
    My dog and two cats are very friendly.

    Even though it is claimed that I am a good cook, do not be discouraged by this; I am very curious about what you can serve me!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I would like to take one or more times to go with guests to interesting surrounding locations. The number of trips of course depends on length of stay.
    Because of my age / life experience I have a lot to share and enjoy reflection and conversation with guests.
    For example: I lived in the low mountains of Central Portugal for a long time, and have I have experience with the local people there. Now that I live here, where the landscape is open and where it is almost always windy, I notice how the different landscapes also affect people and their cultures.
    I'm also interested about your life experiences, reflections and insights.

  • Help

    Help

    *️️️️️️️️️ Practical assistance; taking care of the 'almoço' (hot lunch) and some help in the household.

    * Taking care of the animals and my house when I am away for a day.

    *️️️️️️️️️ Assistance by an art project

    *️️️️️️️️️️️ Some help in the garden always needed; small jobs like weeding and other seasonal gardening.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️ It would be great to have help with all kinds of small indoor and outdoor work projects.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a cozy guest room with views over the village and the surrounding fields. It is also possible to use the wi-fi . There is a bathroom; a washing machine is available... And of course we eat meals together.
    The food will be vegan / vegetarian for te most. On the other hand, I also want to adjust myself a bit to my guest; I myself eat fish occasionally and exceptionally some meat.
    Linen and towels provided.

    A minimum stay of 10 days is my preference .

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have a car, so I can collect you from Lourinhã or Peniche bus station or the Bombarral train station, for example.
    Also important: The village (São Bartolomeu dos Galegos) has a cash machine, some cafes and two small grocery shops. There are pharmacies, a post-office, bakeries, ('pastelaria'), and bigger supermarkets together with other shops in Lourinhã. It is possible to catch a bus to Lourinhã, or together with me in the car.
    Lourinhã and the sea side are about 8 km away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Digital working is quite possible, although the guest room is not specially designed for it.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    A caravan or motor home cannot easily be parked here. However, there are some options nearby.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    ´4 till 5 hours a day; 4 or 5 days a week. It also depends of the weather.

The surroundings
The surroundings
Cacai and Poh Poh
Mill by Moledo
Fort by Peniche
Fort by Berlenga Island
Fossil on the coast at Praia Areia Branca
The garden
View of the village of São Bartolomeu dos Galegos
My house with Pieneke in the front, guestroom is upstairs
Baleal, Peniche
Óbidos

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













































Host ref number: 958795216816