Help a musical family at our home in North East Texas, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 74 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 27 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a husband and wife who are long time independent musicians and have a 7 year old boy. We live on an acre in an 1875 home in North East Texas. We are working toward urban permaculture style organic vegetable gardening and cultivating fruit trees. We have a friendly dog Fluffy Puffy. We are working towards being able to host traveling musicians and occasional house concerts. Our efforts are not for profit but are community building and for cultural exchange.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have 30 Years of music And music industry skills, drum lessons, vinyl DJ skills.
    There are be nearby fishing and lakes accessible within 20-40 minutes, Caddo Lake being the main attraction. Walking to local restaurants and coffee & gift shop village style. Huge City Park in close walking distance with workout stations, frisbee golf course, beautiful walking path and kids play area. Nice walking in general around. We have knowledge of the deep music history from this area and how it correlates or has spread to other areas of U.S. culture and the world. I specialize and have DJ'd Jamaican and Soul music for 21 years so I can be informative on the multiple genres of that and where it connects to our local music history of NE Texas. We are both good cooks, with much experience. Our yard is a sanctuary and habitat for wild life including many birds, frogs/toads, cats, a goldfish pond, occasional foxes and armadillos, etc..

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Seeking honest, kind hearted, community-minded people. We could use help with Gardening, Construction, building, masonry, landscaping, woodworking, creative building projects, painting, electric, plumbing, organization and general maintenance,

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    At least one Home cooked meal per day (usually Brunch), kitchen and bathroom access. Rooms available with beds. RV’s can be plugged in with water hose option too.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Historic town of Jefferson with attractions, tours and nightlife nearby (20 minutes). Caddo Lake Bayou tours (the best), Wright Patman Lake and Lake of the Pines nearby for fishing and outdoor activities nearby. Texarkana is 45 minutes away, Longview (1hr), and Shreveport, and Tyler (about 1.5 hours away) for nearby bigger city options. Lafayette, Louisiana (Cajun culture), and Clarksdale, MI (Blues Culture) within 2.5hrs. Closest Metro cities nearby - New Orleans Louisiana, Memphis, Tennessee and Austin, Texas within 5-6 hrs away and Dallas, Texas (3hrs).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a good working internet connection.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We are on an acre. We have room.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours per day or 20hrs per week



Host ref number: 912572888992