Looking for friends to help out a bit in our garden and family home in Illinois, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 52 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Middle aged couple in Warrenville, IL (western suburbs of Chicago) looking for friendly people to help with acre of gardens, orchard, and vegetable beds.
    We are very friendly, flexible, and open to many things. I am a writer, pastor, and speaker, and various other creative things. My husband is a doctor and beekeeper. We love traveling and exploring, and love meeting people of a similar mindset.

    List of priority projects we are currently doing that you may spend time on:
    1. Finishing fire pit area
    2. Mulching gardens
    3. Planting seeds inside (before May 15) or planting seedlings outside (after May 15)
    4. Pruning trees/bushes
    5. Working with cheese or making cheese from scratch as a hobbyist
    7. Tending bees as a hobby
    8. Clearing and preparing land for new vegetable garden
    9. Building a greenhouse with found materials for a wedding

    We are only accepting vaccinated candidates at this point, and we are both fully vaccinated.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Eat delicious homemade cheese and honey and learn the process to make them. Learn all about various vegetables and fruits and how to plant, care for, and harvest them. We spend most of the summer outdoors, doing crafts, or various projects, and we'd love to help out with any projects you want to work on.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for someone to help us get control of our gardens and/or do some light house cleaning. In the summer time, we grow many vegetables and fruits, and are hoping to plant a new area this summer, if we can clear the weeds and brush. We have bees and make our own cheese, if you are interested in helping with those as well.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I speak a little Spanish and a little French. Would love to learn more of either of these languages and teach English to anyone.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    individual bedroom with shared bathroom. Kitchen is open to anyone at any time. We generally fend for ourselves for breakfast and lunch and then have a family style dinner. We are a non-smoking household. We currently have one cat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live 30 miles from downtown Chicago, which is easily accessible via train. With car transportation, Michigan is easily accessible (2.5-3 hours) and has some lovely state parks on the Great Lakes. State and county parks surround us on most sides. Great area for camping. We have an inflatable kayak that you are welcome to take with you on the rivers or lakes nearby. Naperville has a beautiful riverwalk and is only 10 minutes away by car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have wifi and wifi compatible printers that you may use.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 3 days a week


Host ref number: 294683616267