Stay amongst nature in beautiful Umbria, Italy.

Country

Italy

updated   Last minute

Favourited 493 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    51  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    82.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We, Willem and Edith, are two former Dutch judges who changed tracks in 2008. After 30 years working for the public interest, we wanted to dedicate ourselves to another passion, arts. We have always had a wide interest in arts. We searched more than 3 years to find the ideal spot in Italy and started a centre for creative and culinary courses.
    We are located on a historical site on a distance of 6km from the village of Ficulle. 4km white/dirt track.
    You can find the tracks of the Etruscans who lived here 3000 years ago. The caves which they scarved are still in use, for example as communal kitchen. Stunning views up to Orvieto's cathedral.
    No visible neighbours. Silence apart from sounds of nature: birds, frogs, toads are oly a few examples. You might see squirrels,foxes,porcupines, wild boars. Plenty of fruit trees(picking allowed). Dazing smells of lovely flowers, several ponds with waterlillies and lotus.
    There are loads of possibilities for your free time: 'dolce far niente',walking,rambling,biking,horsbackriding,sightseeing,swimming,
    sailing. Several swimmingpools in de neighbourhood.
    Lakes: Trasimeno,Corbara,Bolsena.
    Historical towns:Orvieto,Todi,Città delle Pieve,Perugia,Assisi,Cetona,Montepulciano,San Casciano dei Bagni,Bolsena,(città)Bagnoreggio.
    Etruscan necropolis+archeological sites.
    Sculpture parcs,Museums,wine,olive oil,delicious regional traditional food.
    Rome 1 hr. Florence 1,5 hrs. by train. Both coasts appr. 2hrs. by car.

    Living here for more than 10 years we got to know the area and the people pretty well. We are most willing to guide you to secret places which you would not have found on your own.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    - International cultural, historic, political and whatever exchange
    - enjoying good meals, having interesting conversations, serious but with humor and laughter too:)
    - gardening, as well in the decorative and the vegetable garden, in terms of setting op pieces of a garden
    and also maintainance (weeding, cutting, pruning, planting etc.)
    - maintenance of dry stone walls
    - building your strength by heavy works, like dragging with wood, soil etc. In the olive picking season working on the flexibility of your muscles (climbing trees)
    - cooking
    - making jams and chutneys
    - painting
    - building (in case we have building works)
    - making mosaics (if we have a mosaic project)

    and more and more....:)

  • Help

    Help

    We have enough work for the year round, except from the winterperiod. We mostly spend our winters in Holland. So from the end of November up to mid February/early March, we cannot have workawayers.

    Depending on the maturity we are going to pick olives in the end of October/ first week of November.

    We are surrounded by a parc of 2 ha's. We have loads of plants, bushes, trees. So there is a lot of work to do, e.g. grass mowing, weeding, pruning, planting, making cuttings ecc. Especially in spring, early summer and autumn a lot of tasks has to be done. For these periods we are looking for people with a real passion for and experience on gardening. In autumn i.a. picking olives is an important item.
    Maintenance on old stone walls, steps, pathes ecc. can also be done during the summer and winter. Work on the vegetable garden has to be done almost all year round, apart from the winter. Nevertheless most of the tasks has to be done in springtime.
    Besides the house where the owners live, are there several other buildings, which constantly are in need of maintenance, like painting, sometimes restoring things that are broken, light building projects ecc. ecc.
    With a view to the work and the accommodation we prefer a couple as helpers. We ask workawayers to join us for at least one entire week.
    What we need are people with a passion for gardening and some technical skills. Driving licence and car are preferable.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    dutch, english, german, french, italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    If the apartments are not rented out, we can offer you one of our apartments with fully equipped kitchen, bathroom and separate bedroom. In case they are rented, we have on offer a small studio, with a 140cm bed, a shower and a small sink. Toilet and washbasin in a separate space. Private terrace with stunning views.
    Of course we will eat together every now and then, but you might like to have your own privacy. Therefore you can use the kitchen in your apartment or the communal kitchencave for your cooking. It goes for itself, that you can use the vegetable garden and fruits from the trees.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The 2-ha's parc is located on a stupendous spot, surrounded by nature. Magnificent views, heavenly smells, no neighbours, wildlife, silence. There is a house where the owners live, an apartment building , a small studio, sheds and several caves, made by the Etruscans. Some of the caves are semi-habitable: one is in use as a kitchen, another contains some showers and toilets and a laundryroom. We restored another one in 2016; it is a beautiful place now for mutliple use like: small gatherings, assemblies, concerts etc. We ourselves will use it as a studio for our creative works as well.
    Our place is offered as a space for creative and culinary courses; when free, the accomodations are for rent (without a course) as well.

    We always make efforts to respond everybody, although we have had difficulties with internet connections earlier this year, leading to a dramatically sunken response rate, which used to be within one day :-)
    We would appreciate it very much if you try to distinct yourself in a positive way and simply answer our messages, like we do yours.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    approximately 5 hours, morning or afternoon by mutual agreement

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)
































Host ref number: 886815881171