Experience East Coast life connected to bush and sea Eastern Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 182 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1242

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My traveller profile is .
    I returned home in January 2019 after 6 months traveling around Europe and South America.
    I’m back at work now and am trying to get things done at the property outside of work hours.
    If anyone is in the area, any help would be appreciated.
    ____________

    I descend from tribes in the Bay of Plenty region from the ancestral canoes - Mataatua & Te Arawa. I work in Conservation and bought a property in late 2017 with 14ha of protected native bush (forest). Unfortunately I am away most of the time working around Aotearoa/NZ biodiversity surveying. When I am home I try get as much done as possible. Jobs around property including pest control, weed control, native tree propagation, permaculture, gardening, building, pruning, general tidying, cleaning, construction, track maintenance, art, painting, carpentry, animal care, tree care, land care, environmental care, human care. I can offer volunteers Māori culture, NZ flora & fauna info, NZ music, a peaceful place to be away from the stresses of travel & the city.

    I strive to live a plastic free life, so if you bring any single use plastic products with you, I kindly ask that you take them with you when you leave.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    connecting/reconnecting to land and sea, conservation/ecology info, Maori culture/language, NZ music, native plants & birds, rongoā (Māori natural medicine), offset carbon footprint from traveling by helping with conservation - giving back to the environment.
    I love exchanging culture, music, cooking/food, language, dreams, stories, positive vibes.

  • Help

    Help

    Painting, gardening, sustainable construction, conservation work, general maintenance, cleaning, building/carpentry, firewood, pest control, art, computer & internet, marketing, GIS, animal care, electrician, gas fitter, builder/carpenter, sustainable energy experts, permaculture experts.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Māori, learning Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I live in a small 2 room self-contained cabin. The cabin is pretty cold in the winter. The other dwelling on the property is occupied by a couple with their 6-year-old son (who has autism).
    You will get a bed in a private room. Shared kitchen & bathroom. Hot shower. Wifi. Breakfast & dinner provided. Share the cooking and clean up. I ask that volunteers organise their own lunch as its not always guaranteed I will be around in the middle of the day.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Property is located 7min drive to nearest beach (Hukuwai) and 10min drive to Ōpōtiki township.
    The area offers bush walks, glow worms, camping, sea swimming/surfing/diving, cycling, bike trails (Motu Trails), hiking, rafting, paddling, yoga, meditation, gardening, organic food, sustainable living, reading, environmental protection/guardianship, NZ birds, Ōpōtiki Library (books and free wifi), cafe/restaurants, arts & crafts stores, Motu river jetboat, White Island (Whakaari) tours, fishing, hunting, beach walks, fires, star gazing, river swimming, chilling.

    Transport to and from Ōpōtiki - hitchhiking, bus, plane to Whakatane, yacht/vessel, bike.
    From Auckland you can fly with Air Chathams to Whakatane or bus to Ōpōtiki with Intercity.

    Its about 4.5 hours drive in a car from Auckland.
    From Hamilton - 3.5 hours drive.
    From Tauranga - 2 hours drive.
    From Rotorua - 2 hours drive.
    From Gisborne - 2 hours drive.
    From Te Araroa (near the first place in the world to see sunrise) - 2.5 hours drive.
    From Taupo - 3 hours drive.
    From Wellington - 7.5 hours drive.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gathering harore with Gabby and Nikita
Sinhue sharing his tortilla (Spanish omelette) recipe
View from my bedroom window
After moving in and mowing the hay paddock long lawns
Moutohora/Whale Island sunset
East Coast
Brazier under crescent moon
Painting house with Canelle and Bob
painting finished ready for Winter
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












Host ref number: 278662491363