Looking for help on our garlic farm on Mitchells Island, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 42 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/04/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple, previous professions, Ian was an Art Director for advertising and I (Stella) was a film editor and producer for film and tv. We made the tree change 7 years ago we are on a island a beautiful property on a hill overlooking the Manning River and run our own garlic farm. We sell our garlic at farmers markets and some online sales. We both love being in nature and life on the land, and we try to be as self sufficient as possible, growing as much food as we can, we love good dinners, music and movies. We have two beautiful dogs, a cat. There are two beaches here on the Island and 3 local beaches close by, the closest town is 30mins away, and 20 mins Old Bar a surfing village, nearest shops and beach village.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have had many travelers pass through our property in the past 5 years, we teach those that need help with their English, we include travelers into our lives and activities as much as possible. We assist helpers settle into the country, we only eat healthy good quality food and love exchanging stories and getting to know each other. We love watching movies. We teach as much as we can the farm life and how to be self sufficient and what we have learned from living on the land.

  • Help

    Help

    Mostly our work is to do with the farm, maintaining the property, grass cutting, brush cutting, weeding, gardening, planting, mulching and harvesting the garlic, vegetables and fruit from the garden. We like to share the cooking and cleaning just as you would normally with a family.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your accommodation is a beautiful separate cottage close by to the main house, it is fully equipped with a kitchen, bathroom and living space, overlooking the river. The cottage has a piano, pool table, darts, chess set, many other games, and books. We also have 3 retro caravans which we are restoring and welcome guests with an artist flare as we plan to paint interesting themes and make them more accommodation. You will be sharing the cottage with other helpers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Having a car helps as we do not have a lot of public transport, we are happy to help assist those that don't have cars but it is preferable due to the distance between villages. There are many festivals held in the Manning at different times of the year, the main activities are fishing, surfing, bush walking, and a live music venue close by. Taree our closest town is quite big and 30 mins away and we make many regular trips for shopping etc. Old Bar our closest town is a beach village and has shops, cafes and a live music venue. We're 2 hours north of Newcastle and an hour south of Port Macquarie. Mostly, the activities revolve around water sports, surfing, fishing, kayaking etc..

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Max 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 863915154615