Help us get this small organic farm up and running and enjoy nature in Charente Maritime, France

Country

France

Favourited 162 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    One and a half hours north from Bordeaux half an hour from the coast, we have bought a beautiful mini chateau with woods and land. Most of the restoration is done and now we will start creating the organic fruit and arable farm, and plant up the gardens and courtyard. We will be doing things like building a wall the traditional way, clearing and organizing the barns, feeding the chickens and goose, etc. You will be staying in the main house with us in your own room and we eat all meals together.
    We welcome any help and enjoy conversations and a simple but good life. We speak English, German, Portuguese and French. If you love nature and getting involved, then this is the place for you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak english at home but have mostly french friends and neighbours, so you could practice your french. We are very much on a learning curve about how to produce food to sell the organic way, so you could learn about that as we learn. I don't feel in a position to say that we know more than anyone else about things, but we like talking about sustainable living, a bit of world politics, ( not too much ), exchange ways of life and different viewpoints. The mostly relaxed way of life.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with all sorts of things from digging and planting to start the organic farm, collecting wood from the forest, some dry-stone wall building and general building work ( which will be safe and easy ), joining in with cooking and washing up, building enclosures for chickens, working on the hedges we planted last winter, probably lots of weeding..If you cannot do one task, we have plenty of others ! Any job will be properly explained and we will be working alongside you.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Big rooms with ensuite bathroom, looking out over the courtyard. We have one room is for one person, and the other is for two people to share. The rooms are separate from our living area so you have a bit of autonomy. We like to eat meals together: Breakfast is fresh baguettes from the local bakery, jams, eggs, cereals, and croissants occasionally. Lunch is usually salad, breads and cheese and hams, and dinners are cooked meals - anything from roast chicken to spaghetti bolognese or hearty soups. If you have allergies/ intolerances, that is no problem. We provide all bed linens and towels and laundry is done once a week.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Transport here is terrible because we are in the middle of nowhere, but I am often driving to places and can drop you so you do your thing while I do my errands.I am often in Rochefort or Saintes which are both nearby, and have interesting museums, nice architecture, cafes etc. Rochefort is a naval town so has museums connected to that and Napoleons naval history. saintes has an amazing ampitheatre and roman remains. Its a sweet town. Pont L'Abbe d'Arnoult is about 5 kms away and you can borrow one of our bikes to go there - it has two cafe's, a snack bar, restaurant and a smart restaurant.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have good internet connection in our kitchen, and the room above the kitchen gets the internet no problem so that could be a good work room. It does however also get noise from the kitchen, as in these old houses, the noise travels up and down through the floor boards.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 751311774483