updated   Last minute

Helping hands are welcome at my non-profit in the hills close to Alicante, Costa Blanca

  • Favourited 854 times
  • Last activity: 4 Mar 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE: WIFI is NOW INSTALLED so digital nomads can work here too.

    Hello, my name is Eva, and I am currently seeking assistance due to a shoulder injury. I require help with tasks such as moving hay for the horses, cleaning up after them, weeding, and assisting in building an outdoor kitchen and bathroom floor.

    I reside in the scenic hillside between El Campello/San Juan Playa and Jijona, approximately 20 minutes away from Alicante, Costa Blanca. I am surrounded by rescue animals from my legal non-profit rescue center, including horses, dogs, and cats, as well as various wild animals in the surrounding nature, such as birds, geckos, and wild pigs.

    I am specifically looking for a minimum of two and a maximum of four handy individuals, regardless of gender, who possess skills in areas such as electrics, plumbing, carpentry, and metalwork. The tasks will involve constructing the outdoor kitchen, repairing and renovating fences, laying floors, extensive weeding, painting, and weekly cleaning of the horses. Please note that assistance with pruning and planting trees on the land will only be required during the fall and winter seasons.

    If you are not accustomed to physical tasks, I kindly request that you refrain from applying.
    It is important to emphasize that while you are welcome to interact with and show affection to the animals, you will not be directly involved in caring for the rescue animals as their care is automated and organized.

    Please be aware that our living arrangements are remote and off-grid, relying on solar energy for hot water and electricity. We value tranquillity and our connection with nature. I work full-time online and teach several hours per day via the Internet. As I am occupied with work, I prefer couples (a minimum of two and a maximum of four people) who can keep each other company during my absence. Additionally, having a group of three is more efficient for many tasks than a group of two.
    During your stay, your self-contained cottage house will be equipped with all the necessary amenities and a small swimming pool.
    The initial stay is one week to assess compatibility; if suitable, it can be extended up to three weeks.

    Before contacting me, I kindly request that you thoroughly read my profile. Thank you for being so understanding.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I speak Dutch, French, English, Spanish, and German and we can talk in any of these languages.
    I am an Advanced Photonic Therapy instructor and can teach you a course in that as I use it every day on the rescue animals.
    I live in beautiful surroundings where you can enjoy walks in nature for hours without meeting anyone.
    Alicante is close by where you can visit the Santa Bárbara Castle, an ancient fortress with panoramic views, the is an archaeological museum and a contemporary art museum, a beautiful casco Antiguo, the old part of Alicante which is like a village at the centre of the town, you have a beautiful basilic of Santa Maria, lots of beaches, boat trips, visit of the Island of Tabarca, beach sports, the is Elche Palmeral, the largest palm grove in Europe, etc.
    The beaches of El Campello and San Juan Playa are 15 minutes away by car, with lots of sports to do and nice bars for a drink and tapas too of course.

  • Help

    Help

    Responsibilities encompass a wide range of tasks such as building and repairing fences, installing flooring, tiling walls, thorough weeding, participating in carpentry projects, painting, aiding in hay-moving activities for the horses, cleaning paddocks, stone removal, acquiring new skills, wood collection, tree trimming, tree planting, and various other assignments.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A self-contained property comprising a one-bedroom house (with a double bed, living room, kitchen, and bathroom), powered by limited solar energy (max 580W). Additionally, except in winter, there is also a detached wooden chalet (5*5) with a sofa bed and a bathroom, suitable for two persons, offering a picturesque sea view.
    Pets, including dogs and cats, are permitted, and the entire property is enclosed by a fence.

    The accommodation features a radio, but no TV, and offers 50/10 WIFI connectivity.
    Food is consistently available and varies according to the season. During summer, expect fresh salads and vegetables from the garden, along with fruits from the trees.
    The fridge in the separate cottage is well-stocked with essentials, ensuring you are never without nourishment.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Remote location from public transport so you need your own transport as I work fulltime I can't be driving you around in your free time.
    By car: 6 minutes to the village of Jijona, 15 minutes from the beaches of El Campello and San Juan Playa. 25 minutes from the center of Alicante with musea, art, festivals. 30 minutes to Benidorm.
    Lovely mountain villages surrounding Jijona like Torremanzanas, Sella, Relleu, el Castell de Guadalest...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Yes, WIFI 50/10 is available.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Any size Van can park on the premises, water is available, no extra electricity capacity as we have a solar-powered house with no extra elec capacity.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    A dog and or a cat are welcome if they are social to other animals, well behaved and flea free. One of my rescues already got bitten by a workawayers' dog and once I have been left with a house filled with fleas by a workawayer in 2020. As you can imagine, I never ever want any repitition of that. The land is fenced off.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 851331489494

Feedback (19)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.3)

Communication: (4.6)





















Come and help on our small finca near Selva, Mallorca
Join our family and enjoy the beaches and mountains near Oviedo, north Spain