Help out on our family farm project in Tomé, Chile

Country

Chile

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family farm project located in Bio-Bio region, 15 minutes away from the beach and town (Tomé) and 40 minutes from the city (Concepción). My parents, brother and I just moved full time to the farm to complete our project of Ecotourism in the near future (The pandemia help us to move here sooner). My mom (66) is a nurse (retired), my dad (72) an engineer (retired), my brother (40) working with heavy duty machines and I (37) study Ecotourism, working on that for the last 9 seasons in Chiloé island (Chilean Patagonia) and off-season traveling and working in different countries. We have a forest, a big part of it is native with a high level of conservancy importance where we plan to build some trails and reforest to make the native bigger and bigger. Hopefully in the future the native forest can recover 100% of its original surface. We have a cat, dogs, cows, horses, chickens and big areas for gardening. Lots of stuff to do everywhere and fresh ideas, talent, energy and company are more than welcome. In our area you can find one of the ancient vineyards in Chile, nice beaches, good surf and beautiful landscapes. A river crosses the property.  

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can experience a local farm daily life having all the farm for you to walk and discover. Meet the local community. We can plan daily trips around the area and some longer trips.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    As we are starting we need help in many different areas:

    - Gardening (creating new areas open and/or in door areas, fresh ideas and techniques are welcome) much better if we produce our food.
    - Farm work (feeding animals, cutting bushes in the forest, repairing and building fences, prune trees, chop good, and more)
    - Repairing the buildings (woodwork skills are welcome)
    - Building new areas (Eco building skills are welcome)
    - If you have skills building wooden furniture we have plenty of wood and a woodmill to start soon.
    - Picking seasonal fruits and forest products for marmalades and more. Also many mushrooms during the season.
    - Make charcoal the old way.
    - We have a lot of mineral water sources so if you are a beer master we can brew some.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    My mom speaks some Italian and it will be nice to practice and improve.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    By now we provide accommodation in one of the houses shared with us, share or private room (depends on actual conditions) We need to repair one more house for accommodation. Meals provided and shared with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We want you to feel at home and be part of our family, we love to share stories and chats. Looking for chill people who want to slow down their lives and settle in the countryside for a while.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    As long as they are friendly and don't like to eat our chickens, pets are welcome.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 826382548754