Agricultural community of the dry mountain range in Coquimbo, Chile

  • Chile
  • Favourited 153 times
  • Last activity: 3 Sep 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    One day 17 years ago, we moved from the city to the countryside, to an agricultural community in the Andean drylands where, with luck, 100 millimeters of rain fall a year. We have a plantation of 5,000 square meters with 90 fruit trees and vegetable cultivation within a 500 m2 orchard. In addition, 3 years ago we have a small herd of goats that gives us milk and cheese. Our goal is to supply ourselves with the food we grow and try to do it 99% since we are 22 kilometers from the city of Combarbalá. We have photovoltaic solar electricity, biogas, solar ovens for cooking and hot water for the shower.

    Un día hace 17 años, nos mudamos de la ciudad al campo, a una comunidad agrícola del secano cordillerano donde con suerte caen 100 milímetros de lluvia al año. Tenemos una siembra de 5.000 metros cuadrados con 90 árboles frutales y cultivo de verduras dentro de un huerto de 500 m2. Además hace 3 años tenemos un pequeño rebaño de cabras que nos da la leche y queso. Nuestro objetivo es abastecernos con los alimentos que sembramos e intentar hacerlo en un 99% debido a que estamos a 22 kilómetros de la ciudad de Combarbalá. Contamos con electricidad solar fotovoltaica, biogás, hornos solares para cocinar y agua caliente para la ducha.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about the uses of renewable energy on a family scale, local commerce, ecological agriculture and family life in the middle of a semi-desert place far from the city. In the surroundings live foxes, donkeys, rabbits, lizards as well as herds of goats. In the surroundings you can find petroglyphs with more than 2000 years old and settlements with ceramic remains and arrowheads carved in stone.

    Aprender sobre los usos de la energía renovable a escala familiar, comercio local, agricultura ecológica y vida en familia en medio de un lugar semi desértico alejado de la ciudad. En los alrededores viven zorros, burros, conejos, lagartijas además de los rebaños de cabras. En los alrededores puedes encontrar petroglifos con más de 2000 años de antigüedad y asentamientos con restos de cerámica y puntas de flecha talladas en piedra.

  • Help


    Mainly in agricultural tasks such as weeding crops, planting work, maintenance and harvest depending on the season. I also work collecting flowers, dehydrating, cleaning petals, and cleaning a stable for 5 goats. Also, when we don't have seasonal crops, there are small carpentry jobs, repairing the fence and others.

    Principalmente en las tareas de tipo agrícola como desmalezado de cultivos, trabajo de siembra, mantención y cosecha dependiendo de la estación. También trabajo en recolección de flores, deshidratado, limpieza de pétalos, limpieza de establo de 5 cabras. Además, cuando no tenemos cultivos estacionales, hay pequeños trabajos de carpintería, reparación del cerco y otros.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate
    English: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    - We have 2 types of accommodation depending on availability, one is a rustic exterior bedroom with the possibility of accommodating 2 people and a shady camping sector, we also have an outdoor kitchen with a bathroom and solar hot shower 10 meters from the bedroom. - Everyone in the family is celiac, so we cannot share the breads we cook, but we can provide an independent outdoor kitchen and bread from the nearest town.

    - Tenemos 2 tipos de alojamiento dependiendo de la disponibilidad, uno es un dormitorio exterior rústico con posibilidad de alojar a 2 personas y un sector de camping con sombra, también contamos con una cocina de exterior con un baño y ducha caliente solar a 10 metros del dormitorio.

    - Todos en la familia somos celiacos, por lo que no podemos compartir los panes que cocinamos, pero podemos proporcionar una cocina exterior independiente y pan proveniente del pueblo más cercano.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Vivimos a 22 km de la ciudad más cercana, vamos a comprar y entregar productos una vez por semana. Puedes programar ese día para hacer las compras que necesites.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Nos parece bién recibir Campers/Motorhomes, disponemos de un sector para estacionar dentro de la parcela, hay agua potable (limitada) y baños con ducha caliente. También tenemos disponible un compresor para inflar neumáticos y disponemos de herramienas de mecánica si se requiere.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours a day

Host ref number: 489394963738

Feedback (7)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

An Eco Lodge, located in the heart of Patagonia, Chile
We are pleased to welcome travelers who can help us with the cabins, the gardening and the reforestation - Chile