Live a sustainable and conservational lifestyle in the beautiful Mountains of Santa Barbara, California, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 110 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are located in the mountains of Santa Barbara, California, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The drive to the beach and town is about 15-20 minutes. We have fruit trees you can pick from depending on the season. The weather is especially great in July, August, and September. Two families live on the land. We have 2 cute small dogs and 3 cats. 2 people speak Spanish. 2 people know Sign language. We are easy to get along with and welcome visitors.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a small community in the mountains that live a sustainable and conservational lifestyle. Our land has small gardens, fruit trees, privacy. My husband is starting an environmental horticulture and small scale food production program at the high school where he teaches! This is a great opportunity if you want to experience and learn how to live this lifestyle as well!

  • Help

    Help

    outside: landscaping, rock wall building, earth bag wall building, brush clearing, cutting wood, gardening, fruit tree care, property beautification, painting, grey water, drainage

    Inside: sweeping, window washing, dishes, cooking, tile help.

    Horticulture: Perhaps help out in the high school classroom (Horticulture & Small Scale Food Production)

    *We are in urgent need of a very good creative carpenter. We have a large geodesic dome that needs finishing! A complicated deck needs finishing. A loft needs to be built perhaps in October. We have enjoyed German carpenters staying with us in the past. A visit between 2-4 weeks would be ideal.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, and American Sign Language

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Food - You will be sharing my kitchen. I will supply the organic food. I can do some cooking of meals and have some made food in the refrigerator as well. But you would need to do some of your own food prep also, depending on what you feel like eating. We eat mostly vegetarian and vegan. We also have a small garden and fruit trees to eat from depending on the season.

    Bathroom - You will be sharing one of the bathrooms in my house. We try not to use to much water. We have a clothing washer and dryer you can use. We try to hang clothes on the line in the summertime, to save on electricity.

    Sleeping - If you don't have your own RV or van, a tent can be set up. We can supply a tent and bedding if needed. The temperature in the days will usually be warm/hot and the nights cool but not too cold. The weather is mild, and it should not rain until October perhaps.

    We welcome families, a couple, or an individual. A well-behaved dog is fine.

    There are no drugs, alcohol, or smoking on the property! We try to be respectful, pleasant, and good communicators, we expect the same from you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We would like to compensate a carpenter for a job well done at $10 dollars an hour, in addition to the standard workaday accommodations, to be paid at the end of each week. We need to get this project done! The setting you will be working in is beautiful! Be aware that you need to be a bit fit as the paths are up and down, they are not long but we do live on a mountain. If you have a partner we can discuss this before you come, as well as your travels plans and needs. Be aware, that I will request photos of your carpentry skills and projects that you have completed. Quality finish work is important.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours per week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 815372667378