Join our happy family and help us to fix up an old homestead in Pahoa, Hawaii, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 275 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/04/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Aloha! We are Matt and Noelle with baby boy Micah (11 months) and three daughters age 8,6,3. Matt grew up in the Philippines so felt at home when he moved to big island. Noelle was born and raised on Kauai, got her degree in California and travelled abroad, living in Italy 6 months, Switzerland, new Zealand 6 months and other places) before moving to the big island. We have a family bakery cafe business in town ( inspired by living in Europe with fresh organic sourdough, croissants cafe...), but we are not asking for work at our business, rather an exchange on the home front. :)

    We are a homeschooling family with a dog, three cats, guinea pigs. Our girls (8,6,3)are super sweet and just wonderful (no bias!) And baby Micah brings us so much joy! We love to be in nature, practice martial arts ,(Kung Fu, jiu jitsu), sing, dance, swim, camp, cook, eat healing living food, enjoy community and cuddle our baby Micah!

    We have very much enjoyed hosting people from around the world in the past and look forward to welcoming you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We think it would be nice to plan a group dinner together once a week. We go into hilo often, two or three times a week for jiu jitsu from 3-6 and your welcome to catch rides (2 people)
    If time allows and you ask me, we can show you sourdough baking as well as other natural fermenting like kim Chee. Practical herbalism and knowledge of local Hawaiian plants. Experience the blessing of joyful children (who sometimes bicker) and funny kid conversation. We are musical and sing and play guitar.
    We are very busy and value our individual family space, but will be happy to help you in everyway we can!

  • Help

    Help

    We could use helping in a variety of ways at home and welcome your input. We are busy building our family business and more importantly, investing in and raising our four children, on top of overseeing the remodeling an old home (our good friend is leading the work on the house) and re-setting up home. We are open to your skills and can see having help starting a garden(never done this besides very small scale- so someone who can take on starting a garden or with landscaping would be nice), construction opportunity,building painting, help in the home, organization. It is hard to say what will be needed as we are not yet moved in to out house. But will soon. And could use help packing/moving. Then we will need to begin finishing work on our current home (that my husband built ten years ago but we never finished). We would like our guests to please take initiative to communicate with us about your skills, interests and what preferred work you want to do as we can't read your mind and we really want the experience to be mutually beneficial! We will try to fit the work to you if we can and please do consider if you would be a good fit for the kind of work we have listed. Some of it is humble work, but necessary and very much appreciated. We hope to bless you in return by offering you a safe place to live (though not fancy and it might be mid construction at times - as our upstairs part of new house is), some yummy food to eat and a friendly welcome to the island. We are not offering to become your personal tour guides everyday (as our lives are very full) but we hope be a nice home to host you while you enjoy our island.
    Included is basic whole food and room or shared room in our apartment in the house that is under construction.(depending on if couple or single) there is a small bathroom and small kitchen with full fridge, induction cooktop, toaster oven and simple kitchen tools. . We would love to share dinner together one night a week. There will be food available in the kitchen for you to eat and cook for yourself. Specifically, organic eggs, organic sourdough bread from our bakery, butter,jelly, organic peanut butter, bean,rice, some veggies, some fruit, salt, pepper, local honey, coffee and tea. Of course you can also buy other food items you may need. Our location very close to old pahoa downtown walking (a few minutes) , including our bakery. We are a very short walking distance from our bakery and all of downtown pahoa and 10 min drive from the coast cliffs (note, not water access). Hilo (bigger) town with several good ocean swimming areas is 30 min away. Ideal experience for someone interested in exploring hawaii (note: consider renting a car) while having a home to do so from!
    Experience the beautiful hawaiian green jungle (note: rainy, but warm) in our Puna district of Hawaii, close to the newest lava flow on earth!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room in downstairs apartment with shared kitchen/bath.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our house is on a peaceful street behind pahoa town with a spacious yard overlooking jungle. Very serene and private back yard overlooking green jungle - think tropical rain. Very unique location so close to heart of downtown but yet surrounded by nature. We have several avocado trees (update: not in season). It is tangerine season. Our house is a ten min drive to the coastal mini beach at uncle Roberts (they have a wonderful wed night market with amazing music and great food and local made products). 15 minutes to Stunning black sand beach (clothing optional). 20 min drive to the newest lava beach on Earth (!!!!) and geothermal pond. Our house is a few minutes walk(less than 5) from downtown pahoa that had a health food store, shops, kava kombucha bar, organic sourdough bakery, live music dinners, Thai, Hawaiian, italian and more.
    Hilo is 30min. Kona 2 hours. Volcano town 1hour.
    Hitch hiking is common here, but obviously unpredictable way to travel, and there is a bus that picks up close and goes around island, but does not come frequently and requires walking to places of interest. If you don't have a car you may want to rent one for weekend travels around the island. There are so many things to see! Volcano national park, Kona beach camping, Mauna kea, old time cowboy country of waimea, South point. We may have a spare tent to lend you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 hours a week

View from back porch of house we are moving to when done fixing
Mama and Micah camping in kona
Our middle daughter
Our new house yard
Oldest and youngest
Last family picture at pohoiki before this surf spot was covered by lava
Construction on the fixer upper adding a room
Traveling to visit family this summer

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)














Host ref number: 958495456476