Looking for help while building our off grid house in the Far North, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 90 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/11/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    151

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a German family, living in NZ since 16 years, with 3 children, who have left home and are at university or working. We have have 2 dogs, and started building an off grid house in Kerikeri in the Far North, on a 15 acre plot that we replant in fruit and native bush. Up North we have a beautifully renovated Guest caravan (yellow picture) that will be available for one person or a couple to stay in. We also have a sheltered area with a tent. As we are in the early phase of building, as bathroom facilities we can offer a hot outdoor shower,and a compost toilet, both providing privacy.
    We like help in all aspects of building, fencing and gardening. We are very happy to teach skills as required and usually work alongside our helpers.
    We offer shared meals, camp fires and good company:) At this stage we could host 2 people max.
    We have space for a helper available now.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learning English , understanding off grid living , and seeing how a family with a German background lives in NZ:)

  • Help

    Help

    Building the deck and floor level of the house, cutting gorse, planting, fencing if more is needed. But mainly help with basic building right now.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Up North either in the cute guest caravan, or in a tent on a sheltered platform:) it will change when we are getting further in our building stages.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    No public transport in Kerikeri! Unfortunately…
    However we have a car and E Bikes hat can be used upon prior arrangement

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We could provide space for a camper van. We have water on site, no electricity.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours per day, 5 days a week, room and food provided

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 744163294631