Spend some time in the real Spain, helping at our home in Comares, Andalusia

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 651 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    76.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our place comprises of 3 lovely self contained units connected to our house just below Comares which is one hour from Malaga.
    We live here with our 3 dogs and our 3 dogs coming home occasionally.
    Our motto is Value and Views Beyond Belief and we really do our best to offer our guests a great experience.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will learn life in rural Spain and to mix in the local village plus understand about the plant life in Southern Spain, living in Comares is a real step back in time to a village steeped in history which will great for workawayers to learn about.
    If Workawayers would like to spend some time on the real Spain then here they will experience this.

  • Help

    Help

    We are fairly flexible and have decided to ask for help for most of the year , we could do with help on ongoing maintenance and ground work with some building tasks thrown in.
    Please note the help is for around our own grounds and house only.
    We also employ local staff to work on our rentals if it is work I cannot do myself and any rentals we manage.

    In having volunteers it frees up our time so we can keep our own house to a decent standard and our grounds, which include Olive and Almond trees.

    There will be plenty of Gardening and Painting.
    The idea is for a mutual experience and flexibility in your helping patterns so that you get time off but also commit yourselves to helping.

    It is easier if we have couples as we are a rural location and although you can walk to Comares if you don't have transport then during your time off it is good to have company.
    We offer a lovely self contained rental , we can send you more info in regards to the accommodation, but it is of a high standard.

    Workawayers will not be doing any maintenance or gardening in spaces that will be used by our rental guests.

    You get lovely independent living and we ask for 5 hours work per day for 5 days a week.
    Depending on a schedules we may need longer hours some days but of course the hours will be reduced another day.

    We do ask that helpers are diligent, we feel we are offering a lovely experience and in summer when our paying guests are not using the pool or Jacuzzi you are free to use them, so a lovely experience.
    Ideally 1 month or longer stays would be better, so we get know helpers and can train them for the work needed.


    Please feel free to ask questions and be prepared to enjoy the experience but also work hard when needed.

    You must also love dogs as we have 3.


    Kind regards
    David and Jacqui

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The plan is to offer the poolside studio it is lovely and self contained and can sleep single helpers or couples, but easier for us if couples.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a family environment with some paying guests so please note you must respect this, we are easy going and will enjoy a meal together and drink, but we will all get our privacy and we need people that can work with us and also have good focus on their own.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We run a selfcatering Villa rental business, always happy to work with travel bloggers and spread the word about our site etc.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We live 1 mile/ 1.5km up a typical Andalusian track so a realistic size Camper Van would get up and we could park you OK but some of the larger one could struggle, best just ask and we can advise correctly, the good thing is once parked up you can walk to the stunning village of Comares in 30 minutes.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)

















Host ref number: 711196941451