Enjoy all seasons, between the stunning Snowy Mountains and pristine Sapphire Coast beaches, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 113 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    758

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Christian husband and wife team, in our late 40s/early 50s. In 2016-7, we bought a property which includes several old buildings, one of which is heritage-listed, and 2 cottages, in addition to our House, with local river frontage.
    We are having fun hosting and learning from travellers and enjoy seeing our valley with new eyes.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have both travelled and want to pay forward the hospitality we were shown. We want to learn especially about international foods and help with language learning. I love cooking and sharing new and old recipes. Fiona loves cooking, it is her happy place, and learning new recipes is fun.
    We are happy to share some tourism activities, when it fits with our schedules. We like whales, swimming and snorkeling, and local festivals too. Workawayers pay their own admission to attractions, but we provide $10 towards meals, or possibly a picnic.
    We have kangaroos, wallabies, wombats, bandicoots, possums, antechinus, echidnas and platypus in the wild, and in our garden or river. There are also many many native birds.
    We are really enjoying our workaway experience so far and love having talks about lands we haven't visited yet.

  • Help

    Help

    OCTOBER- NOVEMBER Still some Snow not too far away, and whale watching is moving into full swing.
    .
    We own a 7 acre property with 3 cottages and 4 other buildings. It had been left to run down and become overgrown until we bought it in 2017.

    HELP! There lot of work to tidy up the estate.
    We want to establish a green lawn barrier around the houses for fire control.
    Fiona also especially needs help with housework, because of disk issues in her back.
    .
    We will also be renovating all the buildings, including building an outdoor BBQ and entertaining area.
    .
    We expect 25 hours help for 7 nights accommodation. Generally, it would be no more than 4-5 hours per day, but some days could be longer in exchange for extra days off. We love taking our visitors to our local beauty points and seeing them through new eyes.

    OCTOBET 2019 UPDATE:
    Housework (would love someone to help me do a big clean, vacuum behind cupboards etc)
    Tree Trimming
    A Small amount of painting in bathroom
    Installation of Pressed Tin panels and wallpaper in bathroom
    Bathroom... remove bath and tile floor for walk in shower area

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English,. Very small amount of French and German (early high school)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation for volunteers is in a large 10m caravan, which has a double bed and 2 bunks, as well as a small kitchenette (fridge, kettle and toaster). The van has a camping toilet and warm and cold water for the sink.
    Access to an outdoor bathroom and flush toilet is available, and whenever the holiday cottage is empty, that bathroom can be used too.
    We presently use this outdoor bathroom ourselves while renovating our house. It has a lovely view of the bush opposite the river. We also have an outdoor spa in need of a few repairs so we can use it over summer. Indoor bathroom in holiday cottage if it is not rented out.
    .
    We offer most lunches and dinners plus one breakfast/brunch per week for most visitors, although families would be expected to make some food contributions. We provide cereal, fruit and bread for breakfast in the caravan, but you would prepare your own breakfasts, as the caravan has its own kitchenette and fridge, and hopefully you would cook us a meal or two as part of a cultural exchange. I love cooking. We want to learn from you too. When we are out for the day, some contribution towards more expensive food would be appreciated.
    Families would be expected to contribute towards additional food costs for children.
    .
    International Licenses ARE required for driving privileges within NSW at all times. Your home country license is not necessarily sufficient if not in English and will need an English Translation. Translation and/or International Drivers Licence should be arranged prior to travel. We are not able, for insurance reasons, to allow anyone under the age of 25 to drive our vehicles.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 50km to stunning beaches and whale watching in season (they start heading north in May-June, and are stunningly good heading south from September to November), and we are 145km to the snow in season, although sometimes you can build a snowman as close as 30km away. There are also a whale museum, the Bega Cheese Heritage Centre, a wildlife sanctuary and a birdpark to visit.
    We are on a highway that has a daily rail bus service to Canberra, which is 200km, with all the attractions of Australia's capital city. The Rail bus goes from Canberra to Eden, through Cooma, Bemboka and Bega. It also has connections to the Melbourne to Batemans Bay Rail Bus route. There are also buses from Sydney down the coast to Bega, which is 32km away. The nearest airport is Merimbula, which is 50km away.
    We don't have children, but do have 8 indoor pedigree Ragdoll cats.
    We have a STRICT no illicit drugs or plants policy.
    We have tank water pumped straight from the crystal clear river.
    We are an easy 2km walk from the nearest shop, cafes, bakery post office and hotel. The use of bicycles may be arranged. Over 25's may be able to borrow a car for local errands - valid licence needed.
    The village population is about 300 people.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 20-25 hours per week














Host ref number: 452555881277