Help our family to create a self sufficient permaculture farm on beautiful Bornholm Isand, Denmark

  • Favourited 93 times
  • Last activity: 18 Apr 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    We - Nina, Michael, Elena and Luca - moved as a family in 2019 from Berlin to Bornholm to crate a new life in a nature related, sustainable and self sufficient way.
    We have established a permaculture farm with the intention of self sufficiency. On our 2ha farmland we are creating step by step a landscape with a high biodiversity and a high amount of yield.
    Our farm buildings were built between 1886 and 1910. Aside from farming and gardening with the principles of permaculture we have all kinds of building, reconstruction, maintenance and repair projects.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer to experience the danish way of living with a piece of work, hygge and community living. We can teach you the permaculture living including gardening, baking bread and lot more. We have the opportunity of hosting movie nights in our orangery or making pizza together in our big pizza oven. Sometimes we end our day simply with a cold beer around the campfire.

  • Help


    Since we have many kinds of different projects, you may support us with a broad variety of skills, fx:
    - gardening (bed maintenance, planting, harvesting)
    - Woodwork
    - masonry work
    - carpentry work
    - painting work
    - cleaning tasks
    - physically heavy earthwork (digging, excavating)
    - caring for animals
    - babysitting

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    We have built 3 well equipped and cosy holiday apartments each with 2 bedrooms, living room, open kitchen and bathroom. You will share an apartment with other workawayers and will either cook with us or cook by yourself.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bornholm is a unique place, full ob natural beauty and variety. Although it’s a small island, we have it all: beaches with finest sand, cliffs and stone coast, great forrest, bogs and swamps and a lot more to discover.
    Since all rail tracks, which were used in old times to transport fish over the island, were transformed into bike lanes, we have over 220 km bike tracks across the island, which makes Bornholm a favorite spot for all cyclists.
    A bus brings you for DKK 99,- in 3 hours to Kopenhagen, if you want to visit the capital city of Denmark.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have high speed internet in all of our apartments and in the orangery, where you can work.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Our parking lot is 7m long and 20m wide

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 h per day and 5 days per week

Host ref number: 699879651528

Feedback (5)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)

Help us with daily life in our new, big and peaceful home in Bækmarksbro, Denmark
Help our family farm becoming a Noah's ark for insects and birds in Eskebjerg, Denmark