updated  

Help out building up a tiny farm with gardens and animals in Eriksmåla, Sweden

  • Favourited 216 times
  • Last activity: 6 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Dear travelers, we are a couple that have both traveled the world and now have settle to give passion to The Joy of growing. Growing in every way.. Here in "little land" we found a tiny farm with lots of abundance and possibilities to be self-sustaining, Raffaella 35 from Sweden/Italy, that have her big love for growing veggies, medicinal plants and preserving things from nature. Been working as vegetarian cook True The years, and later on studied to become a garden master in biodynamic farming.
    Simon 41 Englishman is growing into The life on the countryside, becoming a handyman in everything he takes on, have travelled lots and lots. Simon is also musician and likes jamming with others. We are both old work-awayers and see this as a beautiful way of exchanging knowledge, passion and Great project such as art, music, handcraft, food nature and much more.

    Here we live in total nature with lots of forests, lakes, wild animals and what is called The glass kingdom. We have beautiful bigger towns in every direction and The sea with different Islands.
    Most of all we try to build up this forgotten little farm, with eatable trees, kitchen gardens,greenhouse, house renovations, making good food using foods from nature and try to live in harmony with less.
    As now we live with little Kiko, our street dog from Portugal, Our 'little,' Orza that came to life here.. We have chickens.

    we have now been here for 4 years and hosted amazing volunteers that has helped us so much building our dream here.. the kitchen garden is completed. two greenhouses are up. Gots are fenced in, wood is filling the wood room and the herb garden is established,we have a outside kitchen and community farming projekt with other farms. This years 2024 we are starting a Pickers club, where People sign up to harvest vegetable, we grow, True out The season.

    This spring coming up, we will work on growing Veggies. Cut wood for next season, sowing in greenhouses, preparing kitchen garden beds but also projects as building bathroom, fixing up our converted wan, planting threes and bushes, etc. Harvesting foods from nature. As always we invite you unique gift to be brought in to what we do here.



    We are now searching for beautiful People to Come joining us for spring.

    🍀This season we look out extra for People that want to stay longer and be more part of The family,
    And really get to know The farm, to be able to be self going.. We are looking and hoping for People with some experience of life at a farm. Idealy some knowledge about growing to/ or having carpentry skills. We hope to host and Great you in our tiny house on wheels. .
    There Will be more of your own space, with us closer by.. 🍀


    Please write an application directed to us after you have read the information. The bulk mail applications is nothing we are interested or have time for. We have Veggies to grow and animals to feed =)
    Now also a toddler
    And please, write us only If you are sure you want to come🐝

    Lots of light.
    Simon and Raffaella🌻

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be able to learn about growing veggies, preserving food, taking care of animals. Cooking with love, taking care of what nature have to give. Sharing stories from our lives. Cutting wood, fencing and lots of other things on a little farm

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We like people with a good spirit to come and join us taking care of the kitchen, garden, feeding animals, making food, renovations projects and hopefully your own passion and what you can bring along. There will always be general maintenance on the farm , wood to carry , grass to cut, tools to fix and so on..

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The farm has a house, a cabin and a barn with workshop.. All of it is simple, in The wintertime we use woodburners for our heating. The toilet is an outside composting toilet. We have a poor excuse of a shower, its good because it uses little water, but a long soak is not possible. However we have a wonderful woodburning sauna and outdow shower summer time.
    you Will either stay in The cabin, that is super simple but old and charmy, or summer time in our tiny house on wheels. Free spirits can stay in a hamock in The garden (not recommended in the winter months, unless you are true viking).....or in a tent.

    As for now, we have started renting in The cabin summer time. and Therefor it might be guests in there..
    The space to sleep can be tent, in The house, hammock, or other creative solutions 🌻 If our room is rented out.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We mostly eat vegetarian food,! But some wild Animals to.. We will make sure you will have everything you need to stay healthy and good.

    We live a bit off-grid but with possibilities to go to shops 20 min with car. You have bigger towns as Kalmar, Karlskrona and Vaxsjo ca 1 hour away, witch you can get to with a bus, we will help with arranging.

    Mostly is activity's into nature here. We have canoe you can borrow , beautiful walks around. treks you can go . Camping places. You can use our fishing rods. also there different islands an hours drive away that are so beautiful to go and discover. we have a yoga center close by that also have a summer festival.
    The barn has a workshops that is setup with beautiful tools and space to go into creative projects.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 686956219664

Feedback (8)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)











Spend time on the coast in a nature reserve and help with renovation of the attic and gardening in Uddevalla, Sweden
Person to join our family and help with babysitting, cooking and driving to activities/school in Olofstorp, Sweden