Help us run our home and property near Hamilton City, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 185 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    35  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 17 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a small lifestyle block of 2 acres not far from Hamilton city with our school aged and preschool children. Three of our adult children live locally. We have hosted travelers for 10 years and have had wonderful experiences with the many different people from varied cultures who have stayed and helped us during their travels.
    We have two friendly sheep, a cow and her calf, hens and chickens and are growing a selection of vegetables and fruit. Our pets are large dog and three cats..
    Due to family members suffering from asthma we are unable to have anyone stay who is a smoker.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There are hiking trails in the Hakarimata Ranges (part of the Te Araroa Trail), where you can see glow worms at night, and cycling/hiking trails along the Waikato River (Te Awa River Ride), both just a few kilometres from our home. The World Famous surf beach at Raglan is a 40 minute car ride, Hamilton city is 20 minutes from the local town of Ngaruawahia and the Waitomo caves and Hobbiton are an hour away. We are 5 kilometres from town where buses travel regularly into Hamilton. We can collect bus travelers from the local bus stop in Ngaruawahia.

  • Help

    Help

    We always have ongoing projects which, depending on the seasons, can include help in the gardens (weeding, pruning, planting, mulching, grass cutting, harvesting, preserving), cutting/pruning trees, chopping firewood, painting/renovating, building projects, as well as the never ending household chores. While we do not need help with childcare, the children's interests are Rugby, Soccer, lego, banjo, drums and guitar, and they enjoy interacting with travelers. Several of them are budding chefs so anyone who likes to cook or bake is sure of an apprentice or two.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a separate basic cabin near the house with a double and a single bed. The cabin is off limits to the children so you can have some quiet time. The living areas and the shared bathroom facilities are in the house. We do have cellphone / data coverage and can offer limited Wifi use. We can collect you from the Ngaruawahia bus stop.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours per day or 20 hours per week




















Host ref number: 414275797386