Help with my eco-project and explore Tapanuli, Sumatra, Indonesia



Favourited 95 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity



 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    I am 25 years old, full time farmer, Part time conservationist and a PhD candidate. I live in Tapanuli, Sumatra, Indonesia. I am currently living in my farm and I am a proud tiny cabin house owner. A farm-stay cabin, just a simple one. I own a land surrounded by rice field and farming such as banana tree, coconut tree, papaya etc. My farm is 150 km from Lake Toba and 2 hours drive from Sibolga beach. My places is located in non-tourist area, around the intact forest, breathtaking nature and farm life.

    For the past 6 years I have been involved in educating the student and the community, and raising the awareness on environmental and sustainable lifestyle. Now days, more and more young people do not want to work on farm and moving from their hometown. My purpose is to create sustainable centre in my hometown where community in general and student can learn and experience the sustainability of traditional way of life. As a learning centre, student can meet the travelers and exchange the knowledge and the culture. My focus is building awareness of the students on SDGs especially Climate Action and environmental project.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As a climate activist, I hope we can collaborate and sharing knowledge to saving the mother earth. I hope we can be a family and stay together like a real family, not strangers. You can stay at my cabin house, enjoy meals, yoga, meditation and everything you need to slow down. When you stay with me you also have chance to enjoy our traditional culture lifestyle such as: how to plant rice paddy, our snake fruit garden, our traditional ceremonies, enjoy our food and explore natural landscapes.

  • Help


    1. Help with Eco Projects (River clean up, rice field clean up, village clean up)

    2. Teaching (Not the formal one, it could be as easy as sharing)

    3. DIY and building projects
    It would be great if you are a (experienced) carpenter, handyman or handywomen to DIY and building projects. But don’t worry, if you don’t have any experience, we can do it together

    4. Farmstay help
    -Help at the rice field (this depends to the season).
    -Working on eco-vegetable-garden, composting, plant and harvest all the vegetables.
    -Maintenance at the whole farm like reparing/fixing broken things, cleaning the area and removing the weed.
    -Making kombucha from snake fruit (optional)

    5.Creating/ Cooking family meals (optional)
    6.Help around the house (optional)
    7.General Maintenance (optional)
    8. Building the social media (optional)


  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Indonesian: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    You will stay at my tiny cabin house in the rice field. You have loft-bed, fan, bathroom and free laundry.
    - 3 meals per day, drinking water, fresh coffee and tea anytime you want.
    - Free bicycle and motorbike for use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    A very important and meaningful project for me is to educate the student and the community in my village about enviroment and the plastic problem and teaching English. My aim is to educate student and do some clean-ups.

    I hope you can help me with (all) my work and to realize all the projects.

    Working hours is depend on you. You can adjust your work and rest time as you wish. I do not invite you as a fully-worker here, therefore I invite you to work together. YOU also can supervise and command me to do our best.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 388711256442