Join homesteading family in celebrating life in nature on a chocolate farm in Panamá

Country

Panama

updated  

Favourited 178 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are Ocean, Rachel, and Andros (age 7). We always enjoy having a helping hand and community fellowship on our homestead in the lush mountains of Central Panamá!

    The chocolate and tropical fruit farm is located about 7 km north of the small town of Santa Fe. Right on the Rio Santa Maria, this fertile 1.3 hectares provides us with a consistent and varied supply of food and natural beauty. We have a large harvest of cacao and coffee and are processing it all on the farm. We make a really fine set of chocolate bars that we sell locally and do a cacao farm tour occasionally. The farm is a rich ecosystem of garden and food forest production. We have ducks and chickens.

    Our vision for this land is to build a healing arts center and a homesteading training retreat for women and LGBTQ community.

    We want to be the change we wish to see in world; and to inspire others to homestead and live their Truth. We want to share with others on similar paths.

    We are here to live close to nature, enjoy a healthy low stress life in natural beauty, build community, raise children, and sustain ourselves with causing as little harm in the world system. We want to invite people here to enjoy this life with us! We are here to spread the love, peace, joy, and magic that the nature here has shared with us!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Santa Fe is home to a still thriving traditional Panamanian campesino culture. Many neighbors are talented artisans and traditional musicians. The area has a rich history and there is much to learn from visiting with neighbors. Folks love to share their stories, especially since the youth are leaving for the city life and the elders know well that soon there will be noone left to carry on their cultural heritage. We have cultivated positive relationships with the community and feel blessed to have been embraced with warm hospitality by our neighbors.

    Our neighbors are mostly subsistance farmers, growing an abundance of food on an abundance of gorgeous fertile land. There is a general reverance for nature here and love of this campo life! We have learned so much about living close to nature from this culture! Bartering and gifting from harvest abundance is a lasting tradition here. There are very few foreigners in the area, but the few nearby have become our friends and are doing really interesting projects, from cheese-making to beekeeping to meade-making.

    You will not be able to leave our farm without accidentally or intentionally learning about plants and their uses. Ocean has a degree in horticulture, permaculture design training, and gives tours of the farm and into the jungle.

    We make time daily for meditation and yoga and all are welcome to join. Rachel is a trained yoga teacher, Shiatsu practitioner and massage therapist.

    We home school Andros (age 7) and invite visitors to teach anything they are especially into and to do projects together. Dancing and free form music making is a common occurrence here.

  • Help

    Help

    Help in the gardens, with chocolate and coffee production, and with construction projects is appreciated year round.

    We also homeschool Andros and he loves an opportunity to meet and learn from people from around the world. He is an especially creative person (as are us adults) so artists of all sorts are especially appreciated here!

    We could use help with a few building projects, mostly using wood, bamboo, stone, mud, and some cementwork. We are currently finishing the new chocolate alchemy and apothecary kitchen.

    We are looking for someone who likes to get up early and start the day together with good vibes and energy for making beauty happen.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a tent in a choice camp site with roof cover. The tent includes an air mattress and comfy bedding. The bathroom in the house has a hot water shower and a washing machine.
    Breakfast and dinner are provided by the host and we will all eat together. Please bring easy lunch options to supplement your needs, since lunches here are not a big, group meal.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The farm borders the Rio Santa Maria, where we have many trails that lead to different swimming holes, each more beautiful than the last! There is also a sacred site of petroglyphs within a five minute walk. A ten minute walk in the other direction leads you to the Parque Nacional de Santa Fe, and endless river and rainforest exploration. From here, the trails into primary forest go all the way to the Caribbean coast in a couple days' hike.

    A chiva (pickup with covered bed and bench seats) passes by the property every hour. It costs $1.50 one way to town and is more or less reliable. Taxis are available to go anywhere in the area, as well. For a weekend (or longer) trip to the Caribbean or Pacific beaches, buses leave from town and it only takes a few hours to get to a variety of beaches on either coastline!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)






Host ref number: 611493644638