Help appreciated with gardening near Hobart, Tasmania



Favourited 74 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
  • Description


    Hi my name is Jenny and I am easy going, friendly and compassionate. I live with 3 cats (as my daughter has left home) in an old wooden cottage with a big garden on a double-block. I really enjoy my full-time work with refugees and migrants at the local public hospital but it means that I am often too tired/busy to look after my garden well which is why I enjoy having people help me with it. My garden feels like a sanctuary to me as it is very peaceful, especially in the hammock under the mulberry tree. It's great to be able to care for this small piece of the earth and to grow and harvest organic vegetables and fruit from it. I love the peace and the natural environment here in Tasmania also the local arts/music scene is wonderful too. I wish to acknowledge my respect and support of the Mouheneenner People, the traditional owners and custodians of the land upon which my home was built. I am very happy to share my interests with you which include protecting the environment and human rights, photography, art, music and dancing. I am LGBTIQ friendly too as I don't discriminate against anyone except people who discriminate :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will learn about my organic gardening style and I can also share my knowledge and experiences of Tasmanian/Australian culture with travellers and this will be from an alternative perspective which focuses on protecting the environment and human rights including workers rights. This includes my commitment to supporting the Australian Aboriginal community in their struggles for justice. This means that I will suggest events or places that we can go to together after I get home from work but mainly on the weekends. These include bush walks, art galleries, exhibition openings, museums, rallies/protests and live music venues. I always show my guests the local Kingston Beach as it is very beautiful there and has a lovely walk along the cliffs so that they can go themselves if they want to in their free time. I also encourage my guests to let me know what they are most interested in seeing or learning about while they are in the Hobart area so that I can look at how to best support them to make the most of their time here.

  • Help


    I need enthusiastic and flexible helpers. If you have a trade then you could help with some carpentry, roof fixing or painting. If you don't have a trade then I would like you to mainly do weeding, including removing bamboo, or trimming tree branches. I have a wood heater so chainsawing/chopping is always needed too. I have some fences that could be painted with a mural. I also need help to clean out my sheds and take rubbish to the tip. I would love help to make some 'bush furniture' too. On rainy days help with housework would be great including cleaning out cupboards.

    I need about 4 hours of help/day each in exchange for: room; unlimited WiFi ; food; help with your English or Spanish. If you have a trade qualification 3 hours of help will be enough. I'm an OK cook but if you want me to cook for you then I'd like another hour of help from you in exchange.

    I work full-time Monday – Friday so you need to be able to work alone (unless you're part of a couple) or you could help me when I'm home after 6ish. You can help extra hours if you want so that you can have a longer time off too.

    I prefer helpers who don't wait to be asked to do things like clean up after themselves etc.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Spanish

  • Accommodation


    If you’d like to stay in your own room with a queen sized bed, dresser and wardrobe (sharing kitchen, toilet and bathroom) in my little house in Kingston (a 15 min. drive or 25 min. bus ride south of Hobart) with a big garden then please contact me. No smoking inside please. No shoes on in living room due to carpets. There's also off street parking available for a car or camper van. No arachnophobics please as I prefer spiders to chemical fly sprays :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bus to Hobart is only a 10 minute walk away in Central Kingston, the supermarket is a 5 minute walk away. The beautiful Kingston Beach is a 20 minute walk away, which is the start of the wonderful Alum Cliffs walk. Also close by are sports grounds, shops and places to eat also. Kingston is also at the start of the picturesque Huon Valley and D'entrecasteaux Channel where you can catch the ferry to Bruny Island.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 533287514262