Join our vibrant baby care collective in Berlin, Germany

Country

Germany

updated  

Favourited 275 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    **Covid-19 update: We would expect you to have quarantined for 18 days before entering our home, and to practice strict social distancing while staying with us. For this reason, we are only looking for long-term visitors right now. Please address the measures you have taken in your message of application.**

    We're a single parent and a 2 year old building intentional community. We live in a quieter corner of Berlin-Schoeneberg, a quarter at the heart of Berlin that gives you easy access to cultural spots as well as parks and urban nature. Grunewald and Wannsee are relatively close. We live on our own but usually have a care collective - a large network of chosen family and friends who meet with us regularly to help out with the baby and form part of our lives. Most of us are people of colour and lesbian, gay, bisexual, queer or transgender, and involved in arts or activism of some kind. Due to Covid-19, we're socially distancing but stay in regular contact with the fam via zoom and the very occasional walk in the park, where everyone involved wears masks and stays at a 2m distance.

    I am working from my home office and have been physically distancing since March, but Jade is in daycare part time, in a room with 4 other toddlers. I mention this as it is important to know where we are quarantine wise. On days that Jade is not in daycare you will help watch her. You will also help out around around the house as fully as any adult flatmate would. Shared tasks include cooking, cleaning, shopping and laundry. While watching Jade, you will play with her at home or in the park or playground. You might drop her off or pick her up from daycare, but we can negotiate your comfort zone around this. You will clothe her, feed her, make her lunchbox, pack her diaper bag, or change her nappies as required.

    ***The child is raised multilingually in English, German, Thai and Patois. Please state any skills you have in these languages. Please also state any experience you've had looking after babies this age and living communally with others as a flatmate.***

    Applicants with background in the Caribbean or Thailand, as well as applicants with lived experience in the LGBT, queer and trans of colour communities that make up the care collective (as described above) are preferred.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You would experience being part of something bigger. Care collectives bring us closer to social justice: to a world where parents stay in community, where adults and children are in community with each other, where children have abundant access to people of many generations and experiences. They provide support and practise interdependence in a context where there is often a significant lack of support for parents (family not in the country, no partner etc.). And they let folks who may not otherwise have this opportunity experience and gain skills for hanging out with babies.

    You would experience living in one of the amazing world cities out there. The place has all the culture, art and scenes you could wish for. Its social movements - from queer and trans politics to Black Lives Matter - are inspiring.

  • Help

    Help

    You would help out a maximum of 25 h a week. You would be expected to chip in with the chores independently and self-directedly as a leading member of the household.

    THINGS FOR HELPERS TO KNOW
    - Small kids & new parents are fragile creatures. Please respect our attempts at domestic hygiene and do what you can to stay healthy. Bring weather-appropriate clothes, especially in winter (it can get -20/30). Please wash your hands first thing when you walk in, before touching the baby.
    - On any given date you might spend your time feeding the baby, playing with the baby while I'm cooking, stretching, bathing or getting some work or life admin done. You might take the baby to a play ground or drop in at a family centre, library or the children's book bank, or you might play with them at home while I'm running some errands outside.
    - Do things that need doing (but be mindful of your own boundaries and capacity): If there is a stack of dirty dishes, load them into the dishwasher, if you're the last person up in the evening and you've had a late-night snack, wipe down the surfaces and take out the rubbish, if it’s lunch time, heat up food, if there’s laundry, take it downstairs, take out the recycling when you go out. The point is, just dig in and help out, don’t wait to be directed. I'll pay for food, rent and bills but you'll be expected to chip in with shopping, cooking and cleaning as an independently motivated helper and flatmate.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Thai: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a cute 2 bedroom apartment at the centre of the City, walking distance to many great places to check out. The apartment is in a charming new building. It is warm and cosy in winter, and has stunning sunrises and a peaceful view. There's a cute balcony where you can grow your own herbs and flowers if you wish. You would have your own room with shelf space you can fill, as well as your own bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Allergy advice: I don't have pets and am a non-smoker. There's laminate in the living room, kitchen and entrance area, and carpet in the bedrooms. The carpet is new and hasn't been exposed to any further allergens. We try to be scent free, please don't bring any soap, hair or body products that have perfume or chemicals in them.

    Close to the subway and buses that connect you instantly to the downtown. Lots of groceries and immigrant-owned shops nearby. Walkable to cafes, libraries, community centres, drop ins and parks.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Shared kitchen and dining area
View from Jade’s perspective
Your room
Jade and her Pama
Our awesome past visitors
Jade has many uncles, aunties and aunckles

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 488632737511