Help with odd chores on our old farmhouse and also on our land near Jegun, South West France

  • France
  • Favourited 106 times
  • Last activity: 18 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Colin, ex stockbroker, Amanda (half French) language teacher and entrepreneur, moved back to the Gers to an old farmhouse near Jegun. End of track situation amongst rolling hills. 3.5 hectares. 2 dogs, 2 cats, chickens, 3 horses - Arab,Lippizaner horse and 'BugBug' the Shetland
    I work remotely teaching and also run a recruitment business.

    We run the main house the other end of the long farmhouse is an independent 3 bedroom 2 bathroom holiday home. Need help with small decorating jobs in house, outside lots of clearing of scrub etc and some chainsawing. Plus tidying up huge old barns. It's a peaceful situation with fabulous views of Pyrenees (1.5 hours away) . We have a swimming pool that's open May-Oct. . Experienced horse riders are welcome,we have a sand manege and fab rides up in the hills.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    all about living in the Uk, living in France - I am a teacher with the Chambre de Commerce in English and am happy to exchange lessons. experienced horsewoman. Passionate about eco products.

  • Help


    We need someone/people good with woodwork and general maintenance- fixing barn, helping to tidy up grounds, fencing. Helping with trimming trees and pruning, veg garden.

    If expert with horses, help always welcome, if a partner was accompanying then help in house with decorating, sewing and..

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Intermediate
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    comfortable bedroom with ensuite bathroom in main house or if out of season I can offer the independent accomodation next door where there are 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. In which case would provide some food for own cooking. Upmarket accommodation rented out in the summer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Auch 17 mins by car buses available in Jegun (7 mins away by car) . Toulouse is 1 hour by car, trains from Auch. We can take volunteers to bus stop/train station. Jegun is a friendly village with a bar ( is also an irish pub!), restaurant, Casino supermarket. Vic Fezensac is 15 minutes by car.

    Ideal for country lovers, but for weekends lots of culture & city life in Auch & Toulouse if wanted. Beautiful for walking/cycling. Local chateaux etc for culture vultures. Little local concerts most weekends in villages.

    We are very friendly, but equally respect that volunteers (and us) need 'me-time'. We are used to receiving foreign students for language courses and exchanging cultural ideas/cooking etc

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    friendly dog

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 569965559654

Feedback (2)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Volunteer as part of our evolving contemplative community near Poitiers, France
Help a family with renovating an old house and live a french rural family experience in Cours-Les-Bains area, France