Organic farm and garden help in Vancouver, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 182 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/08/2020

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I run a mid-sized market garden on 3/4 of an acre of beautiful rich land out in burnaby. I provide vegetable boxes to about 35 folks and also sell at some garden markets and shops in the city! I also will try to continue my yoga and dance as well, though my massage practice largely gets put on the back burn during the summer months because of my farm. Mine is a butternut farm but there's a flower farm and also a bee farm next to mine!!

    ***UPDATE FOR 2020 SUMMER***

    I am potentially looking for someone or a couple to come stay from April 16th onwards! Ideally looking for someone or a couple to stay for a few months at least, or even the whole season (until October).

    I get lots of applications so please tell if you have any farm experience, when you're available and all the lovely things about you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will get to experience Vancouver in the summer... which is a wonderful city! There is lots of dance and music events around and about, they can take off during the week and explore the gulf islands. My family is super sweet and friendly. I have two boys 18 and 14 who are always in and out, hanging with their friends, playing fortnight and just generally being teens (don't know if thats a selling point or not!). The home stay would learn lots about farming practices of course. I dance a lot and would be willing to take them around to the various dance communities (ecstatic, contact, blues fusion, salsa, Lindy hop). My husband is Portuguese and makes wonderful Portuguese food when he's not working like a fiend haha.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    I run a 3/4 of an acre market garden so it's more like farming than gardening, but the workaway person can do as much or as little intense manual labour as they like. (I literally have unlimited manual labour... but they can also wash veg, sort, weed, host the markets or clean the house). I have many garden beds in my back yard and my greenhouse needs tending there too! Otherwise you'll be coming out to my farm with me which is about 15 minutes from my home in East Vancouver. Work-away person would ideally have to have a good back (cause my back is a bit funky) and be willing to do lots of weeding/watering and generally playing with all this delicious food!! (Weighing, washing, bunching, chopping, sorting, bagging, planting - that sort of thing). Some ability with small construction projects and power tools helpful but not necessary.

    You will seriously learn so much about farming practices, from buying my seeds to tending the soil, to planting, to harvesting, to selling and marketing to he wrap up of the season!! It's a crash course in farming literally.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Nice big room on our middle floor (we have three floors, kitchen living room on main, bedrooms on middle, and me and my hubby sleep way up top). The middle room is very quiet and big. It has hard wood floors and a fireplace. The home stay would be sharing a bathroom with the two boys (though we have a bathroom on the main floor as well. ) They would have access to our kitchen of course and our living room on the main floor and our back yard. We live in a sweet East Vancouver neighbourhood with many friendly neighbours. We also have a young, CUTE cat called Mittens.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are close to a sky train station (Broadway and Commercial) that can take you anywhere in the city quickly and easily. There is also a major bus route (the 99) which connects the east side to the west side. We live close to Trout Lake, so there is very sweet walking and sometimes swimming in the lake when the water is good. There is a market there every Saturday which we like to go to when we have time. The home stay can sometimes use our van if that works, there's only one car for the family so we all share and can make it work I'm sure. Also homestay is welcome to use our bikes.

    We are largely paleo (so lots of meat and veggies), although open to all kinds of different diets and habits. Homestay must be ok with the smell of bacon though! (Some vegan folks in the past really weren't ok with the smell of bacon.. but it's not everyday I promise). No smoking in the house please but outside ok. We are generally a fun-loving home, lots of people coming and going. My life as a farmer gets very intense and busy so I do a lot of yoga and meditation (at 5:30 am) to keep myself cool, calm and collected! I also teach goat yoga on the weekends if you're interested!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Midday until four/ 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 486194147735