Come and help us in the garden and enjoy the wildlife on lovely Raymond Island, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 215 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    43  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/04/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    81

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on Raymond Island in the middle of Australia's beautiful Gippsland Lakes. Our home has a large garden (2.2 hectares) with food crops and Australian native plants. Our garden is home to many animals (including kangaroos and koalas) and birds.

    We're an easy-going couple who moved from the city to rural Victoria for a sea/tree change. Jane's background is education (university and technical) and Tom's background is international marketing. We've decided to be Workaway hosts after enjoying an unexpected visit in 2015 from two German exchange students.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can help you to improve your English, no matter what skill level you already have. You'll learn more about Australian culture - not just the Crocodile Dundee image that you see at the movies. You'll have the opportunity to participate in Island life and meet other Islanders. We can teach new cooking and other practical skills if you're interested. Our aim is to provide a fun and rewarding cultural stay.

    Raymond Island is located 4 hours east of Melbourne on Australia's largest lakes system in internationally recognised RAMSAR wetlands. It is 8km x 2km and home to arond 500 people. Apart from discovering the challenges of organic coastal gardening, there's lots of local wildlife to see in a natural habitat. We're happy to spend time with our travellers exploring the local region on the mainland (mountains to ocean beaches), especially at the weekends.

  • Help

    Help

    We enjoy sharing our lovely garden and ask for general help around the property and especially in the garden in return. Help could be anything from painting to planting trees, cooking dinner, spring cleaning or puppy-sitting. There's no fixed schedule and work is active but doesn't require great physical strength.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our house is large and comfortable and you can share our home with your own bedroom/s. We have good Internet access to contact home but avoid downloading movies (there's a largish DVD collection instead). We have two friendly dogs who love attention and walks.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In summer the water's great for swimming and in winter curl up with movies or books in front of the fire. We have a strong local music culture and you're likely to have at least one opportunity to see a live performance.

    We cook a wide range of foods and can accommodate special dietary requirements, for example if you are a vegetarian.

    We are a no-smoking house.

    There are no shops on the Island but have a short ferry ride to the mainland shops at Paynesville. We have bicycles to explore the Island. Public transport is limited and we are happy to help with transport from the country trains at Bairnsdale (our nearest town).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    They could work from there own bedroom. Plenty of room.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    we live on over a hector so plenty of room.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs yes. We have two Labradoodles

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.8)


























Host ref number: 564382269413