Come and help renovate our farmhouse in the mountain village of Oria, Andalucia

Country

Spain

Favourited 57 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/01/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    409

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi we are Joel & Cori (32 & 44) We have 4 children and we live in the mountains in Southern Spain. We are originally from Brighton/Worthing in the UK. We have already completed one part of our property, but we are now ready to start on the ruin! We work in tourism, and have rental apartments and a small restaurant on site. We also manage other people's rental properties in the local area.
    We are very excited to begin our next project, the ruin which is opposite our house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are an English family located in a small rural village in the Spanish mountains of Andalucia, there are a few shops and plenty of bars & restaurants to indulge in Spanish cuisine and culture. We can offer help for people learning English. The locals are mostly Spanish and are very friendly and easy to talk to. Our children speak Spanish so can help out with the language, and we are learning so can help out where we can. We would love you to come and stay ... you will be treated as part of the family ! We look forward to hearing from you and working together.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are starting the next part of our project, which is to clear the farmhouse ruin. Tasks will include lifting, carrying and working together as a team to get the space ready for repairs.
    Initial repairs will include: Roofing, tiling, rendering, electrics & plumbing. We will be helping as and when we can, as we have 4 children who are 16, 14, 13 and 4 ...so maybe the older ones may lend a hand!
    Ideally looking for 2 or 3 people to help us with the task of clearing the spaces in the farmhouse. This is 7 or 8 rooms. The property is old and has housed animals in he past, so some floors will need digging over.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house is an old Spanish farmhouse on the edge of the village, looking out over acres of mainly almond and olive trees. Your accommodation will be 2 adjoining double bedrooms, one with twin beds and one with bunk beds with double on bottom. Rooms have modern en suite with shower. You will be downstairs in our family house, so plenty of privacy as all of our family rooms are upstairs. You will receive breakfast, lunch and dinner every day, with fruit and drink available at all times. As we are a large family we tend to do large meals in the evening, such as Curries, Shepherd's Pie, Stews, Pizzas/Pastas/Salad etc. Lunch will be sandwiches and fruit/yogurt. Breakfast will be cereals, toast, or bacon & eggs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can pick you up from Almeria, Murcia intl or Granada airport if you do not want to hire a car. We are both laid back and have no strict schedule with the work, although everyday we will expect between 4-5 hours of work, depending on what we are doing and what progress we are making :) There are plenty of mountains walks nearby, and the local swimming pool is open 10-8pm everyday all of July & August...which has a pool side bar that serves food, drink & hot snacks.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have fibre optic internet with speeds up to 100mb. We have internet access in many areas of the house and bedrooms.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.8)








Host ref number: 764445827564